Books I Did Not Finish, But Are Back On My TBR

Recently — perhaps due to my increasing need to procrastinate, and because my puppy is growing annoyed with how I usually choose to do so (she’s now refusing to take selfies with me, apparently I’m “annoying”) — I have been staring at my bookshelves and realising that I have a large number of books that I have started, but did not finish (DNF). Seriously, it is becoming a terrible problem. I either need to stop hoarding books and exchange them, or finally make a commitment to give each of them another chance.

Now, not to make a million and one excuses, but there are numerous reasons as to why I haven’t finished them. Those reasons range from a dislike of the writing style and the characters to the overall concept of the book. However, there are some books that I DNF that I have been reconsidering and have therefore added them to my ever-growing, ever-changing and slightly terrifyingly large ‘to be read’ (TBR) pile.

And those books would be the following:

IMG_7278

Obernewtyn by Isobelle Carmody || Goodreads

Obernewtyn (along with the second book, The Farseekers, in this seven book series) was an impulse buy around mid-January. I was looking at the seventh book in one bookstore, and then had to travel across town to find the first two in another (to the annoyance of my mother… I often drag her to numerous bookshops).

The cover is simply gorgeous — but, to be honest, I was immediately captured with the idea of a talking cat. It just screams pure fantasy, the premise is quite promising and the main character was different, unlike anything that I had previously read… but after reading the first few chapters I never returned to it. It wasn’t because the writing was bad or the characters boring, but I think I was just in a reading slump. I plan to return to Isobelle Carmody’s world soon, and hopefully conquer this seven book series by 2017! *fingers crossed*

acotar

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas || Goodreads

To be honest, I only bought this book for one reason: it was written by the literary queen Sarah J. Maas. Her other series, Throne of Glass, is perhaps one of my all time favourite young adult fantasy series, and I desperately wanted to get into this one. But, unfortunately, it didn’t capture me as instantly as Throne of Glass did and after a very disastrous attempt at reading it, it went back on my bookshelf.

With the second book, A Court of Mist and Fury, set to be released soon, I really want to attempt this book one more time. I really should have persevered with this book — the writing is beautiful and the main character was actually quite interesting, as well as her potential love interest — but it just didn’t have the same ‘ump’ that Throne of Glass did. But I am looking forward to giving this book another chance quite soon.

IMG_7304

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon || Goodreads

Outlander was a book that I attempted to read on a roadtrip last Christmas (because in a noisy car on a bumpy highway is the best place to read, obviously), but after spending hours reading the first two hundred pages, it felt as though the novel was going absolutely nowhere. The television series looks amazing and I wanted to read the book before devouring the first season. But I was left quite disappointed, and the book was promptly placed back on my bookshelf for several months.

I would like to attempt to read Outlander again, especially since the second season is coming out soon. But whether or not my opinion will change about the slow beginning is still up in the air.

IMG_7287

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir || Goodreads

I WAS SO DAMN EXCITED FOR THE RELEASE OF THIS BOOK LAST YEAR! I WANTED IN MY HANDS THE MOMENT I SAW IT ON GOODREADS! And when I picked it up from my favourite, trusty bookstore I was really, really, really disappointed. Everybody was going wild about this book and it was receiving such fantastic reviews on Amazon and Goodreads, so I had such high hopes… but after reading the first few chapters I was left with a lot of disappointment.

Perhaps, due to the insane amount of hype surrounding its release, I was expecting so much more going into it. And because it didn’t live up to these high expectations I was frustrated and refused to continue. But, now, I am very determined to give this book another go in the immediate future.

Do you have any books that you DNF that you are considering to give another chance? If so, what ones?

5 thoughts on “Books I Did Not Finish, But Are Back On My TBR

    1. The Mortal Instruments is one of my favourite series, but I know a lot of people that have struggled with it. If you try to persevere, I bet that you will love the story and especially the characters. 🙂

      I will definitely try to power through!

      Like

  1. I loved An Ember in the Ashes!! Definitely give it another shot and post a review on it, whether you like it or not. I haven’t heard many people say they don’t like it, so I’d love to hear what you think about it if you end up still not liking it!

    When I DNF a book, I tend to never touch it again… Then again, I don’t DNF books very often – even if a book makes me miserable, I tend to just skim the rest. So more power to you for being determined to pick up your previously DNF books!

    Like

    1. Thanks Jorelene (beautiful name by the way)!

      I will definitely post a review of “An Ember in the Ashes” regardless of liking it or not. I am actually looking forward to doing that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

