Top 5 Wednesday: Least Favourite Books in Your Favourite Series

top5wednesday

In addition to joining in on Top Ten Tuesday, I am also jumping onto the Top 5 Wednesday bandwagon as well. This week’s topic was very interesting: your five least favourite books in your favourite series. And I actually found this topic to be a little difficult, but it was quite fun compiling this small list.

Every book that I have listed below is from some of my all time favourite series. Whilst I consider them to be my least favourite, that does not mean that I didn’t enjoy reading them. I would be really interested to hear what you think about the following books and whether or not you consider them to be your least favourite in their series as well.

throneofglass11. Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1) by Sarah J. Maas

The Throne of Glass series would have to be one of my all time favourite young adult fantasy books, ever. But out of the entire series, it would have to be the first book that I don’t particularly enjoy as much as the others. I obviously loved this book enough to continue on with the series, but I found the concept of the various tasks that Celaena Sardothien had to face were not as action-packed and bad-ass as the rest of the series. Yet, this book does make the rest of the series possible (which is absolutely fantastic by the way) and does introduce us to an awesome young adult fantasy heroine that will be a favourite for a long time.

chamberofsecrets2. Harry Potter & The Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2) by J. K. Rowling

This actually seems to be quite a popular opinion — out of all the incredible, adventurous Harry Potter books, it is Harry Potter & The Chamber of Secrets that is placed at the bottom of the list. Now, please don’t get me wrong, I love this book (it is where we get to meet the wonderful Dobby, and yes, I am actually one of those strange individuals that actually likes Professor Lockhart), but out of the entire series it is the second book that is my least favourite. And this is only because I love the other books so much more. It still took me on a wonderful, magical adventure — one that I definitely won’t forget.

cityoffallenangels3. City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4) by Cassandra Clare

I have only ever read this book once, which is very unlike me when it comes to The Mortal Instruments. But I remember learning (a long time ago) that the original trilogy was becoming a six book series and being so excited, only to not have my high expectations met. It has been a long time since I have this book, and whilst I still loved the characters, it felt a little slow. I think it just comes down to the fact that I was so excited for this book, had such high expectations and was a little let down when they weren’t met. However, I would still recommend this to any fan of Cassandra Clare.

thetitanscurse4. The Titans Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #3) by Rick Riordan

It honestly breaks my poor little heart to place this book on this list, but out of the entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians series this would have to be my least favourite (and yet I would still give this one five stars!). I really like the story of this book, but I think its because of the lack of Annabeth Chase that makes it my least favourite of the series. Annabeth is my favourite character of the Percy Jackson series (followed closely by Grover), so it was kind of upsetting that she wasn’t there. Though, at the end of the day, this is still a great book and has a number of hilarious moments.

scorchtrials15. The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner, #2) by James Dashner

This is kind of a cheat, seeing as I haven’t finished this trilogy yet, but when it comes to The Scorch Trials I am still very disappointed. I absolutely loved The Maze Runner, it would have to be one of my favourite books, but when it comes to its sequel… I just don’t like it. Most of the time it felt like the characters were running around achieving nothing, and we did not get to see much of the other main characters that we met in the first book. They were pushed off to the side, which annoyed me greatly, as the main character was slowly starting to become unbearable by the end. It saddens me that I feel this way… hopefully the last book is better!

What are your least favourite books in your favourite series? Have you read any of the above books, if so, do you like them?

14 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Least Favourite Books in Your Favourite Series

    1. It was definitely hard to come up with this list, because even though they are my least favourite, they are still some of my favourites.

      That’s really interesting. I’ll definitely be checking out your list! (Makes me wish I had done that… maybe another time!)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I think Chamber of Secrets is my least favorite of them all too. I obviously still loved and adored it, but it’s definitely not my favorite story. And I feel like The Throne of Glass books just keep getting better and better, so the first one would probably be my least favorite too.

    Great list! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Jolien!

      I agree 100% with you in regards to the Throne of Glass books. I loved the first book when I read it, but as I have continued on with the series I realised that in comparison it is not as great as the others. Maas has just improved her books and writing immensely! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The Prisoner of Azkaban is my favourite Harry Potter book! It’s interesting to hear what people consider their favourite and least favourite — all so different!

      Like

    1. Hey Cate! I honestly don’t blame you for quitting — I am going to attempt to persevere, only because I want to finish it though. I haven’t seen the movie yet. But I’m excited to, because I am really hoping that it is better than the book (which is not something that I usually think/say).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The trilogy was so hyped up by many friends and family. I enjoyed the first one and meeting James Dashner was one of my favorite author moments. That makes it so hard to dislike the rest of his work. 😦

        Like

  2. Great list, Madeline! I agree with you on CoFA. I find the story slower and I still had a hangover on City of Glass (which I find EPIC). Clary and Jace’s constant bickering kinda annoyed me. As for the Titan’s Curse, it happens to be my favorite in the PJO series haha! Sea of Monsters was my least fave in that series. 😉

    Like

    1. Thanks!

      I’m glad that somebody else agrees with me about CoFA! I love Cassie’s books, but that one is definitely the slowest read!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. We have two common series, Harry Potter and Percy Jackson, though we have different least fave. I tried starting City of Bones, still on my DNF. I’ve read The Maze Runner, it was fun. The first series on your list, I’ve heard about but I haven’t read it. If you’re interested, here’s a link to my list: http://wp.me/p7ksIu-1I

    Like

    1. Thanks!

      I will definitely be checking out your list. It’s nice to meet another Harry Potter and Percy Jackson fan! I hope that you try City of Bones again, and you should try Throne of Glass, it’s great!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

