Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Day Reads

top5wednesday

This week’s “Top 5 Wednesday” topic is Rainy Day Reads.

This was, perhaps, the best topic for today. Tasmania’s weather today was cold and windy, the sky a taunting grey, and by the late afternoon it was raining. I love the weather like this — the kind of weather that makes you want to snuggle under a warm, crocheted blanket with a cup of hot chocolate — which is probably a good thing, because the winter here is always freezing.

And because the day was like this, it made it so much easier to think up some books that I would love to read. On days like this, I want to read books that make me feel warm and cozy. I want to read about worlds that are magical and fun, go on adventures with characters that feel like family. That’s why I have chosen five books that are the first books in their series.

harrypotter11. Harry Potter & The Philosophers Stone (Harry Potter, #1) by J. K. Rowling

What could possibly be more perfect than returning to the wonderful, magical world of Harry Potter on a cold, rainy day? To a world where everything and anything is possible, where magic exists, and where we can go on an adventure with our favourite trio? That is why I have chosen Harry Potter & the Philosopher’s Stone. I want to let my mind enter a world of magic and mystery, and forget about the stormy weather outside my window. I want to be welcomed my old friends, and sit in front of the fire in the Gryffindor dormitory alongside Harry, Ron, Hermione, Fred and George. I can honestly think of nothing better.

cityofbones2. City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1) by Cassandra Clare

Since I cannot simply list five Harry Potter books, the second book on my list would definitely have to be the first book in Cassandra Clare’s awesome series: City of Bones. I love returning to this book every once in a while, and experience the adventures of Clary, Jace, Simon, Isabelle, Alec and Magnus all over again. They are some of my all time favourite characters. I am pretty sure when I first read this book I was sitting in the lounge-room, snuggled up underneath a blanket with a cup of hot chocolate and listening to the rain outside my window. It is just the perfect read for a cold day, because it allows you to be transported to a new world within our own.

lightningthief3. The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1) by Rick Riordan

Anything by the very talented Rick Riordan offers a beautiful cast of interesting characters that you just want to go on an adventure with! In order to properly forget about the horrible and freezing cold weather outside, sitting underneath a blanket with Percy, Annabeth and Grover sounds like pure perfection. This story that Riordan has created is so exciting and thrilling, and it pulls you in, making you forget about the outside world. This is the kind of book that you need when it is horrible outside — an adventurous novel that whisks you away with an awesome group of characters who make you laugh, smile and cry.

throneofglass14. Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Whilst this isn’t my favourite book in the series overall, the thought of reading Throne of Glass on a horrible, rainy day brings me so much joy. This is where we first get to see Celaena Sardothien, where we watch as relationships form with Dorian and Chaol, where we are pulled into a world that is so beautiful and yet so dark. This is all due to the wonderful writing style that Sarah J. Maas possesses. Her writing is beautiful, taking on a poetic feel, which can so easily take you away from the cold weather outside and transport you into a new world. If you want to forget about the weather outside, I would definitely recommend immersing yourself into this little beauty. You won’t be thinking about the cold weather again!

expanse15. Leviathan Wakes (The Expanse, #1) by James S. A. Corey

Hahaha, this is kind of a cheat pick, simply because this was how I spent my rainy afternoon today. Leviathan Wakes is probably my all time favourite science fiction novel at the moment. I enjoyed spending my afternoon listening to the rain outside, and letting James S. A. Corey take me away to the terrifying, mysterious darkness of space. I was transported into the world of this book and it allowed me to step onto one of the awesome spaceships and space stations alongside a crew of unlikely heroes who are traveling through space in order to save it from destruction. (Since I finished this book today, I will have a review up later this weekend.)

What are your favourite rainy day reads?

15 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Day Reads

  1. Oooh Leviatan Wakes – I was going through my TBR list yesterday and thought about this one. I’m kind of affraid it will be too s-f for me, I’m more into space operas and fantasy, but a s-f novel now and then is a nice change

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely give it a go! 🙂 I thought that this book was pure perfection. I don’t think that it was too sci-fi, so I think people that don’t particularly like science fiction would still enjoy it. This book is more about the characters than anything else 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The Lightning Thief is definitely one I keep going back to. It doesn’t even have to be a rainy day, sometimes I just feel like it. I can’t even say how many times I’ve read the first 50 pages of that book. I just pick it up, read it for a while, and then I put it down and read something else. I feel like that’s such a weird habit, but it makes me so happy! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Throne of Glass has been on my TBR for so long but i’m somewhat scared to finally pick it up just incase I don’t like it aha. You know that feeling you get when there’s a really hyped up book and your nervous to finally give it ago yourself?

    – Great choices for rainy day reads though!
    Definitely 100% with you on City of Bones. I absolutely love the series, I remember I picked up the first 3 books for when my parents were going on holiday and I thought I’d get them read whilst I had the house to myself for a week… I ended up reading them within the first 2 days then I had to go back to the bookstore for the rest haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I understand completely! I was so worried that I wasn’t going to enjoy the series because there is so much hype surrounding it, but I actually loved it. I think the first book is nowhere near as amazing as the rest, but it is still a fantastic read in my opinion.

      And I am with you on City of Bones! Those books are brilliant 🙂

      Like

  4. I *almost* got Leviathan Wakes at the library yesterday, figuring maybe I’d be able to read it since I can never get through listening to it. Looked at the size of it and backed away, lol. Though I still managed to leave the library with another book over 600 pages, so… whoops. My T5W

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was a little intimidated by its size, but it is that thrilling and mind-blowing that I read the thing in less than a week! If you decide to pick it up, I reckon you’ll enjoy it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I would definitely be in the same boat! I just love the Percy Jackson world 🙂 And yes, I’ll definitely check yours out once I get home!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

