Ten Reasons Why You Should Read The “Throne of Glass” Series by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_7525

By now you should know that I am completely and devotedly in love with the extremely talented Sarah J. Maas and her incredible, beautiful, heart-breaking, soul-shattering, action-packed Throne of Glass series.

I picked up the first book in the series Throne of Glass, early last year. I was pretty late to the party — I mean, the first book had been out since August 2012 — but from the moment that I began reading this wonderful fantasy adventure I immediately knew that I was hooked. I purchased the next two books, Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire, and devoured them just as quickly (and sobbed like a baby). I received the fourth book in the series, Queen of Shadows, for Christmas last year, and when I finished it I was left with a major book hangover.

Today I am writing a blog post about why you should read this awesome series. Yes, the hype around this incredible series is huge. You cannot take one little step into the book community without hearing about how awesome it is. But, I hope with this post, I can demonstrate why this book is a definite must read.


1. Sarah J. Maas’ writing style is beautifully poetic. I have read a number of brilliant books from a number of talented authors, but Sarah J. Maas’ writing style is perhaps the most beautiful style, ever. I can honestly not think of any other author that has a similar sort of writing style; or, at the very least, not any other author that has such a beautiful one. Additionally, Maas’ vocabulary is extraordinarily rich and her writing comes across as incredibly poetic.

2. It has everything a fantasy lover would want. Seriously. Does it have magic? Yes. Does it have witches? Yes. Does it have shapeshifters? Yes. Does it have dragon-like creatures and magical jewellery and mystical passageways and beautiful castles and the fae? Yes, yes, yes, yes, annnnddd yes!

3. Celaena Sardothien is the embodiment of a strong, three-dimensional heroine. You have probably seen Celaena Sardothien — the incredible assassin, the smart-mouth and bad-ass young woman — on strong female character lists… and that is no accident. Celaena is a wonderful, well-written and well-developed character. She is bent, but not unbroken. She is strong and passionate and determined and loyal. I love how Celaena is such a physically and mentally strong character, but at the same time has such a vulnerable side that only makes her more life-like. Maas did a wonderful job at bringing Celaena to life and making her into a very realistic three-dimensional young woman — even in a fantasy world.

4. The secondary characters are just as strong and developed. What makes this series incredibly awesome is not only the strength of the main character, but the secondary characters as well. This is a major ‘must have’ when it comes to reading for me. If the secondary characters seem a little flat then I am greatly disappointed. Dorian, Chaol, Nehemia, Aedion, Rowan, Manon, Lysandra… and I could name many, many more, are fascinating characters. Honestly, each character is developed just as wonderfully as Celaena is — all with their own passions and determination and loyalties and motivations and agendas.

5. And, at times, we get to see things from their point of view. The entire series is written in third person, and whilst most of the series is written from the point of view of Celaena, there are a number of chapters written from other perspectives, giving the reader a much broader picture of the ongoing events. This means we get to see the thought patterns of Dorian and Chaol, just to name two of the secondary characters that received their own chapters.

6. The world continues to expand with each book. The first book only focuses on a significantly small part of the world that Throne of Glass is set in, but as the series continues we get to travel across seas and visit other areas of the main continent. At the same time we get to learn more about the various cultures and lifestyles of different countries, adding to the overall story immensely.

7. The romance is not the main plotline, but is a wonderful addition to the story. I really, really hate when the romance overshadows the overall storyline. Or when the romantic attraction between two characters is rushed and portrayed very unrealistically. But Sarah J. Maas makes sure that, whilst the romance is important, does not take away from the overall plot of the series. And each romance develops quite naturally.

8. Romantic relationships aren’t the only relationships highlighted — but also female friendships, familial relationships, etc.  Another thing that really drives me nuts when reading a lot of young adult novels is when the female characters absolutely hate each other or simply don’t get along. Whilst not all of the female characters get along perfectly, Sarah J. Maas places a lot of emphasis on the strong friendships between Celaena and Nehemia, and Celaena and Lysandra, and Manon and her Thirteen. And even when two female characters may not like one another, there is always a level of respect between them. This is a wonderful change of pace from other young adult series.

9. It is an awesome form of ‘escapism’. Whenever I read these books I always sit in my bedroom, on my favourite chair and underneath my favourite crocheted blanket. I want to forget about the real world outside my room — the horrors, the frustrations, the things that I cannot control — and instead focus intently on the characters that Sarah J. Maas has written so beautifully. Hours may past before even I put the book down!

10. After each book I am left with the overwhelming feeling to just want to know what happens next! After finishing Queen of Shadows earlier in the year, I just wanted the next book in my hands. (But, unfortunately, I need to wait until September for Empire of Storms to be released! *sobs*) I experienced this same feeling after each of the other books. Sarah J. Maas has a wonderful talent for spinning an incredible story with plot twists and mysteries, and bringing everything together at the end… and still manage to leave you with hundred and one different questions.

I hope I have inspired you to pick up this wonderful series! Have you read the Throne of Glass series? Do you like it? If yes, why? If not, why not?

12 thoughts on “Ten Reasons Why You Should Read The “Throne of Glass” Series by Sarah J. Maas

    1. Awesome! I hope that you decide to pick them up, because they are seriously awesome books 🙂 And you’ll love the secondary characters, they honestly make the books ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, I’m glad that this post as gotten you more excited to read these awesome books. You will not disappointed, they are a real escapism book without a doubt ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The Throne of Glass series is one of my favourites too 😀 I was majorly late to the series as well but I pretty much read one book after the other and I alreayd have the fifth pre-ordered.
    I love Celaena and I also love that the romance isn’t a major plot point of the book either. It doesn’t get in the way of the action or the story or the character development and it’s just a brilliant series. Definitely one of my favourites.
    Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank-you so much, Beth!

      I am so excited for the fifth book as well. The day that it is out I am buying it, no question.

      And I agree, the romance does not take away from the character development. I hate when a character is only defined my their romance with another character, and I just love how none of these characters are defined by their love lives ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can’t believe it’s so long away as well. I read all four books one after another so I’m going through serious withdrawal right now!
        Exactly, all the characters are introduced and developed throughout the story before given a romantic aspect, even then it’s more of a background to their story than the main part.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am ashamed to admit that I haven’t read this book (yet). I did order it yesterday and it should get here next week so hopefully I can start it soon-ish. I am a little intimidated by high fantasy books, but I’ve heard amazing things about this series and I am really excited to give it a go and experience it for myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How exciting! I really hope that you enjoy the series. High Fantasy books can be a little intimidating, but I think that Sarah J. Maas does a wonderful job with this series. I wish you all the best! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

