Do You Like Comic Books?

{The SFF Bookshelf is expanding to now incorporate comic books as well!}

IMG_7598
Let’s Talk Comics!

For as long as I can possibly remember I have always been fascinated by superheroes. During high school, for example, when my friends were watching reality television or Gossip Girl, I was obsessed with Smallville (and I promise it was not just because Tom Welling is absolutely gorgeous). But my love for comics didn’t really manifest until probably two years ago.

I was watching Arrow at the time — falling in love with the television versions of Green Arrow, Black Canary, Deadshot and Deathstroke — and realised that my superhero knowledge was quite limited. And I really wanted to remedy that.

I ended up going to my local comic book store and was overwhelmed by the numerous choices. I decided to stick with the DC Universe and chose two different comics from the New 52: Harley Quinn and Birds of Prey. From there, my comic book collection has grown exponentially and I now read a number of different comic book series. Harley Quinn and Birds of Prey are probably my favourite — however, I also love Batgirl, Catwoman, Suicide Squad, Red Hood and the Outlaws, and The Flash.

I am still a little bit of a comic book ‘novice’. I have barely even made a dent in the numerous, numerous, numerous comic books out there. But I am looking forward to expanding my knowledge of the DC Universe — there are so many comics that I want to read! In addition, I am very interested in venturing into the Marvel Universe as well, especially Black Widow and Ms Marvel.

IMG_7614
Another reason I love comic books? The beautiful artwork, of course!

So, why do I love comic books?

Despite there being so many reasons, the overall reason would have to be the interesting characters. I think that a lot of people actually expect comic book characters to be quite flat or two-dimensional, but many possess quite a lot of depth and personality. I like how a number of them are broken characters, sometimes even tragic, and it is so wonderful to witness these characters find themselves again through their superhero identity. (One only needs to look at the history of Barbara Gordon, aka Batgirl, to see this.)

I will now be using The SFF Bookshelf to discuss my love of comic book in addition to my love of books. How this blog will still remain primarily a book blog. I hope to write up some interesting discussions in regards to my favourite comic book characters, reasons why I love a certain comic, different representations within comics, television and movie adaptions, and plenty more. I will also be writing some reviews.

Also, if you are thinking about getting into comics and/or graphic novels, then you should definitely check the awesome post by Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews to help you figure out where to start: “So… You Want to Start Reading Comic and Graphic Novels?“.

Do you read comics? What ones are your favourite?

14 thoughts on “Do You Like Comic Books?

  1. Ahh, yay! I’m so happy you made this post 😀

    Harley Quinn is the love of my life! I really need to start more DC comics. I think I’ll probably go with Catwoman next since I love what I saw of her in Gotham City Sirens. I also need to start Suicide Squad because I need all the Harley I can get, haha.

    I definitely recommend Black Widow (especially the Nathan Edmondson run) and Ms Marvel! They’re amazing!!

    I can not wait to see your future comic posts! And thank you so much for sharing mine ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Harley Quinn is amazing. Honestly, everything that I have read so far with Harley Quinn I have loved. Her character is just so much fun! I bet that you’ll love Suicide Squad 🙂

      And thank-you so much for the recommendation with Black Widow. I really can’t wait to start reading some Marvel comics, and I definitely think Black Widow will be where I start.

      Like

  2. I actually never got into comics – I totally jumped on the manga bandwagon, but comics are a different ballgame altogether. I love the idea, but DC/Marvel have gone on for SO LONG, I’m often intimidated by the thought of just trying to start because I wouldn’t even know what to pick up first.

    I’ll be checking out Lauren’s post and am also looking forward to more comic-related posts on your blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My brother is really into manga (he has heaps!), but I have never really tried them. I would like to though, they have always intrigued me! 🙂

      Yes, definitely check out Lauren’s post! It can be really intimidating starting — I really found that. I think DC has made it a little easier with the New 52 series, as it goes back to the origins of the various superheroes. Thanks so much!

      Like

  3. Awesome! I look forward to seeing your new posts. I like to read graphic novels, but I never really got into comics, mostly because I like having all of the story in one book rather than having to buy each new issue. Though I recently read the first few Firefly comics, and I really loved them, since I’m a fan of the TV show. I’m not a huge super hero person, either, but I am interested in reading other comic series, like the Lumberjanes! Definitely something I want to check out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank-you Emily!

      The Firefly comics look so good, but I haven’t read them yet! But, it’s Firefly, so it must be awesome haha 😉

      I haven’t read a lot of graphic novels, so that is definitely something that I want to read more of. I understand what you mean about wanting to have everything in one book rather than lots of issues. It can be kind of annoying. That’s one of the reasons why I buy the trade paperbacks, where there are 6-8 issues in each one. But even then you have to wait to find out the ending! Probably the only downside with comics in my opinion! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hellz yea!! Comics are the best!! I love Saga & Deadpool the most. And anything by Ben Templesmith. He’s my favourite comic artist.

    I also usually go for the darker comics. I have all the Silent Hill ones, cause it’s my fave franchise lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, another comic book fan! 🙂 I really, really want to read some Deadpool comics. I unfortunately missed seeing the movie due to work and school commitments, but I’m definitely buying the movie when it comes out… and probably devouring some comics as well! Haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The movie was awesome, you’ll like it. There are a lot of DP comics, cause he’s been around a while. I started with the Deadpool Dead Presidents trade paperback. It’s the 1st volume of the newer run of Deadpool & it’s a great place to start!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

