Review: The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus, #1) by Rick Riordan

lostheroOLD ENEMIES AWAKEN AS CAMP HALF-BLOOD’S NEW ARRIVALS PREPARE FOR WAR. 

When Jason, Piper and Leo crash land at Camp Half-Blood, they have no idea what to expect. Apparently this is the only safe place for children of the Greek Gods – despite the monsters roaming the woods and demigods practising archery with flaming arrows and explosives.

But rumours of a terrible curse – and a missing hero – are flying around camp. It seems Jason, Piper and Leo are the chosen ones to embark on a terrifying new quest, which they must complete by the winter solstice. In just four days time. Can the trio succeed on this deadly mission – and what must they sacrifice in order to survive?

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon


I have honestly never, ever been more excited to begin a new series. After finishing the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series earlier in the year, I couldn’t wait to begin Rick Riordan’s second series, Heroes of Olympians — and it did not disappoint. This book was beyond brilliant.

I think that I have fallen in love with every single one of these new, amazing characters. Thinking back now, I think one of my only worries about beginning this series was the fact that I would no longer have Percy running the show alongside Annabeth and Grover. But that concern was quickly thrown out the window once I realised how absolutely amazing the new trio is. Jason, Piper and Leo are all fun, likeable characters — and the secondary characters, especially Coach Hodge, are just as interesting and entertaining.

  • Jason is unfortunately, in my opinion, the least developed character of the new main trio. Don’t get me wrong, I actually quite like the character of Jason. Not only does he allow us to see another side of Riordan’s world, but his personal storyline was perhaps the best to follow. However, I wish that he had had the opportunity to developed more. My only concern is that Jason might become another ‘Percy’, which I really don’t want because I think that his character has so much more potential than that.
  • I was initially unsure about Piper, but she develops into a wonderful character by the end. I was initially kind of worried that Piper was going to be another wonderful example of the “not-like-other-girls trope”, but by the end of the book she developed into such an awesome character. Piper’s difficult relationship with her father and her love for her friend’s made her into a sweet, relatable character whilst also highlighting her inner strength.
  • Leo is probably the best character in this entire book. I am not joking, Leo is awesome. Leo provides a lot of the comic relief for this book (I actually laughed out loud on a number of occasions), but he isn’t your stereotypical class clown. There is a much sadder, almost tragic, side to Leo that almost broke my heart.

And we still get Annabeth Chase! The fact that Riordan continued to write about characters from the previous series was a wonderful way to transition into Heroes of Olympus. We actually get to see a number of old favourites (Chiron and Clarisse, for instance), but my favourite in particular is definitely Annabeth (one of my all time favourite fictional characters). Annabeth is a wonderful addition to the story — and she doesn’t out shine any of the new characters either as it is their story.

This book manages to further expand the Percy Jackson world. This world that Riordan has created is so intricate and detailed, and it has surprised me how much more Riordan can add to it.

There is time spent on developing the Aphrodite cabin. Perhaps one of my chief complaints concerning the first series is the way that the Aphrodite cabin is described. Previously, they are referred to as the stereotypical attractive girls and guys that enjoy breaking up romances, focusing on fashion, and gossiping. This book turns this upside down, and actually makes them more human and relatable. I actually grew to really like them!

This is a wonderful example of third person multiple points-of-view executed correctly. I personally find that books written in multiple points-of-view can either be written exceptionally great, or absolutely awful. Riordan manages to balance the story equally between the three points-of-view characters, allowing each of their chapters to possess something exciting and propel the story forward. There is honestly no dull moment in this book — hello, mechanical dragon!

If you are a fan of Percy Jackson and the Olympians, you will absolutely love this book!

fivestars

IMG_7253


Sorry for my absence lately! I have been working hard on my thesis for university and trying to hand in assignments. Though, I can’t blame it entirely on that… I may have binge-watched the entire first season of iZombie and began season two… because nothing screams “procrastination!” like completing two seasons of a television series in almost a week. Oops!

4 thoughts on “Review: The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus, #1) by Rick Riordan

  1. Yay, I’m so happy you enjoyed it! Jason is not another Percy in my opinion. I think they’re actually extremely different, but I agree that he’s the less developed character of the bunch. I still love him tho.
    And yes, I agree about the Aphrodite cabin! Its development was so lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad that you said that about Jason. I am really excited to see how he develops throughout the rest of the books, so it is nice to know that he doesn’t become another Percy.

      Thanks so much for your comment! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! I’m so happy you enjoyed this! I had the same feelings towards Jason and Piper at the start, but they definitely grow and come into their own throughout the series. Leo is seriously the best! I can’t wait to see what you think of the rest of the series 😃 Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

