Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Are Most Like

top5wednesday

I have not participated in Top 5 Wednesday in such a long time! But I am looking forward to participating this week because the topic is characters you are most like. To be honest, compiling this list was, strangely, a little hard, but it was also a lot of fun! And I cannot wait to read what everyone else has come up with!

harrypotterandtheprisoner1. Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

(I have a feeling that this will be a popular pick!) I feel as though I share Hermione’s book smarts and love for education. Hermione was never ashamed of her intelligence and love for learning, and I feel as though this is something that we share. I have always enjoyed school (and have actually done quite well) and I am currently studying for my second university degree.

How I Wish I Was More Like Hermione: I wish that I possessed the same amount of bravery and courage that Hermione displayed throughout the whole Harry Potter series. Not only does she stand by her friends in the most dangerous adventures, but she also fought bravely during the Battle of Hogwarts. Hermione is such an inspiration when it comes to standing up for what you believe in and who you are as a person — something that I am still aspiring to possess.

throneofglass12. Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

To be honest, Celaena and I share very few traits — but one trait that we undeniably share is our love of books. I absolutely loved the fact that Celaena goes insane when she enters the palace library for the first time — because I would have been exactly the same way! (Definitely a relatable scene.)

How I Wish I Was More Like Celaena: Who doesn’t wish that that they could be as ‘bad-ass’ as Celaena is throughout the entire Throne of Glass series? Especially when it comes to her inner strength. Celaena is an excellent fighter, and whilst a lot of her battles are emotional and mental, she has such a strong inner strength that she can overcome them. And I deeply admire Celaena for that.

losthero3. Leo Valdez from the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan

Keeping in mind that I have only finished the first book (and currently reading the second one as I type this), I really feel like I can relate to Leo. Leo is such a fun-loving and humorous guy, who often makes jokes and laughs at himself… but deep inside he hides a lot of insecurity. I’m not saying that I am exactly like Leo, but I do often laugh and make jokes at my expense, especially when I don’t want people to know that I’m upset or angry.

How I Wish I Was More Like Leo: Maybe that my jokes were actually funny? Haha. No. I actually kind of wish that I was a lot like Leo generally. He is such a nice, funny guy who is brave and loves his friends fiercely. Plus, he builds such amazing things! I want to build a mechanical dragon!

cityofbones4. Simon Lewis from The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

I’m thinking more the Simon Lewis of the earlier novels, especially the first book, City of Bones. Simon is definitely a bit of a geek: he loves comic books and superheroes and stupid movies. He also loves music. Though, most importantly, he strives to be a good friend and a good family member, and would do absolutely anything to help the people he loves. These are all traits that I like to think that I possess.

How I Wish I Was More Like Simon: Perhaps to actually possess the confidence to possess that much sarcasm? Haha. But also his unwavering ability to never, ever give up. And maybe even his marvellous music talent, because I would have absolutely loved to be in a band when I was in high school.

magicians5. Quentin Clearwater from The Magicians by Lev Grossman

To not be ‘overly dramatic’ or anything, but it actually physically pains me to even admit that Quentin Clearwater reminds me of a small part of myself (I really do not like his character). I’m talking about the Quentin from the beginning of the book — not the awful and self-centred Quentin that he becomes throughout the rest of the book. I was very much like the first Quentin during high school. I felt alone and different than everyone else, I was a little socially awkward and really nerdy. Thank goodness, I  have become more confident in who I am as a person, and didn’t go down the road that Quentin went down.

How I Wish I Was More Like Quentin: I don’t. I want to be nothing like him.

12 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Are Most Like

  1. I’ve seen Hermione floating around on a few lists today and I definitely feel like she’s one of the most relateable characters in literature. Mind you, I’ve not read the books but I do love the fact that she embraces her intelligence and fights for what she believes in.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Hermione is definitely one of the most relatable. The fact that she does embrace her intelligence, fights for what she believes in, and does all of that by being herself, is something that I think everyone needs to aim for. She is probably the most perfect role model! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely relate to Hermione! It was so good, growing up, seeing a character who loved learning and reading because whilst I wasn’t the best academically I loved learning about everything I could. And now that I’m older I appreciate her fight for the House Elves so much, because that would honestly be me haha. Also, Leo is fantastic. His sense of humour is brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that is another important element of Hermione’s character! I loved how she fought for the House Elves, and whilst I understand why it wasn’t used in the movies, I totally wish it was 🙂

      Like

  3. What great picks! I have to agree with you- I have about as much in common with Celaena as you- I love books but that’s about it- unfortunately I’m not a brilliant assassin- I also wish I was as badass as she is! (although probably not the actual assassinating bit :p )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank-you! I completely agree, I would love to be just as bad-ass as her, without having to assassinate anyone, haha 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

