Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

acourtofthronsandrosesA thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon


I know, I know — I am very far behind! Everyone is reading the second book in the series, and I have only just completed the first! But I began reading this book last year when it was first released, slowly fell into a reading slump, and declared this book DNF. It was such a big disappointment, especially since Sarah J. Maas is one of my all time favourite authors. However, I was determined to read this book again and actually get all the way through… and I am so happy that I finished it.

This is one of my favourite fairytale retellings I have ever read. To be honest, I haven’t read a lot of fairytale retellings, but out of the few that I have read, A Court of Thorns and Roses is perhaps my favourite. (Also, the fact that it is a retelling of my favourite fairytale, the Beauty and the Beast, makes it so much better!) There are a number of elements from the original fairytale scattered throughout the novel — for example, it made me feel all warm inside every time Feyre is referred to as a ‘beauty’ and Tamlin is referred to as a ‘beast’.

The plot is really interesting. However, there were many times where I wanted the story to speed up a little, and slow down in others. In my honest opinion, the part of A Court of Thorns and Roses where Feyre first meets Tamlin to where she is sent home could have potentially been more condensed. Especially since the most exciting part of the novel, where Feyre comes face-to-face with the mysterious Her, is actually quite small in comparison.

I really, really love these characters. I really like how three-dimensional and life-like Sarah J. Maas’ characters are — each one feels like a real person. I find myself cheering Feyre on; I want her to succeed, I want all these characters to succeed, even Rhysand. They are extraordinarily fleshed out.

  • Feyre is probably one of the strongest female characters I have read about in a long time. I absolutely, without a doubt, love Feyre. Sarah J. Maas has a wonderful talent for writing such strong, intelligent and independent female characters, and Feyre is another example of that undeniable talent. Feyre loves Tamlin, and a lot of her actions may be motivated by that strong, unwaveringly love for him, but that doesn’t make her weak or dependent. Instead, it reinforces the fact that Feyre will fight for who she loves (like she did her family) and what she believes in. She has a lot of inner strength that is very commendable.
  • Tamlin was definitely an interesting choice for a love interest. I want to be completely honest and state that I am still a little unsure whether or not I like Tamlin. But there is no doubt that he is an interesting choice for a love interest. He does sometimes play into the cliched mysterious and attractive love interest, but I liked the fact that he was a little more intense than some of the other love interests that I’ve been reading about recently. (I actually wouldn’t mind going into more detail about Tamlin in another post, and discuss how far he went to save his kingdom.)
  • I wanted more of Lucien. Lucien is incredible — and I am 100% sure that I am not the only one that thinks that. He is a bit of a tragic character (truly, his background may have brought me to tears), but he is also quite humorous and caring. Lucien is the trusted emissary of Tamlin, and it is evident throughout the entire book that he will stand by his friend’s side. He isn’t your typical hero, but he definitely has the making of one.
  • Rhysand is probably my favourite character. (Haha, I know for a fact that I am not the only one that feels this way!) Rhysand is such an interesting, dark and mysterious character — and my only complaint with him was that I wish we could have seen more of him. He is not by any means a “nice” character, he does possess a lot of evil tendencies and seems interested in only himself — but he is such a captivating character. Plus, there is more to him than meets the eye. In the short amount of time that we get to see him develop, we do see how much he loves his kingdom and the lengths he would go to save his people are phenomenal. I honestly cannot wait to see him develop further!

This is another example of Sarah J. Maas’ wonderful, poetic writing style. I absolutely loved Sarah J. Maas’ third person narrative in the Throne of Glass series, and her first person narrative in A Court of Thorns and Roses is just as beautiful. Feyre loves painting, artwork and colours, and her love for these manages to come through Maas’ wonderful writing style. She often focuses on the different colours that Feyre sees, and goes into great detail about her surroundings. This helps in getting into the mind of Feyre, allowing the reader to understand her even more.

The ending does a wonderful job to tie everything up. I quite like how the ending does a wonderful job at bringing everything together and tying up all the loose ends, whilst also making it clear that there is still so much more to read about in the rest of the trilogy (which I am so excited to read!).

fourstars

2016-05-12 12.52.26

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

      1. I hope that you end up writing a review for it, I’d love to hear exactly what you think! And yes, Sarah J. Maas has such a wonderful writing style — it’s gorgeous! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s