In Which I Broke My Book Buying Ban

2016-05-16 14.33.03

As the title suggests, I may have broken my book buying ban… Oops. I went away to Melbourne last weekend, and I went to the most amazing bookstore — not only does it have thousands and thousands of books, but it also possesses a nice little cafe. So… I came to the conclusion that I should definitely TREAT MYSELF! Plus, when I purchased The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan, I received The Outcasts by John Flanagan for free, which I thought was pretty awesome.

(And, unfortunately, I couldn’t get all of The Lunar Chronicles.)

I went on a book buying ban exactly one month ago, so I think I did pretty well in not buying a book in a month haha. But now, after this gigantic haul, I think I’ll put myself back on my book buying ban until the end of July. I definitely have plenty to read until then!

Here are the books that I bought:

cinderCinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

A forbidden romance.
A deadly plague.
Earth’s fate hinges on one girl . . .

CINDER, a gifted mechanic in New Beijing, is also a cyborg. She’s reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s sudden illness. But when her life becomes entwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she finds herself at the centre of a violent struggle between the desires of an evil queen – and a dangerous temptation.

Cinder is caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal. Now she must uncover secrets about her mysterious past in order to protect Earth’s future.

This is not the fairytale you remember. But it’s one you won’t forget.

scarletScarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2) by Marissa Meyer

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

cressCress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3) by Marissa Meyer

Even in the future. there are damsels in distress…

In the third installment of the Lunar chronicles, Cress, having risked everything to warn Cinder of Queen Levana’s evil plan, has a slight problem. She’s been imprisoned on a satellite since childhood and has only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress a great hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress involving Cinder, Captain Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes as a high price. Meanwhile, Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

acourtofmistandfuryA Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

theoutcastsThe Outcasts (Brotherband Chronicles, #1) by John Flanagan

In Skandia, there is only one way to become a warrior. Boys are chosen for teams called brotherbands and must endure three months of gruelling training in seamanship, weapons and battle tactics. It’s brotherband against brotherband, fighting it out in a series of challenges. There can be only one winner.

When Hal Mikkelson finds himself the unwilling leader of a brotherband made up of outcasts, he must step up to the challenge. The Heron brotherband might not have the strength and numbers of the other two teams, but with inventiveness, ingenuity and courage on their side, they might just surprise everyone.

thesebrokenstarsThese Broken Stars (Starboard, #1) by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner

Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive – alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.

The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

thisshatteredworldThis Shattered World (Starboard, #2) by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet’s rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn’s blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

theirfracturedlightTheir Fractured World (Starboard, #3) by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner

A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. Some say Flynn’s a madman, others whisper about conspiracies. Nobody knows the truth. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life in front of the cameras, and a secret life away from the world’s gaze.

Now, in the center of the universe on the planet of Corinth, all four are about to collide with two new players, who will bring the fight against LaRoux Industries to a head. Gideon Marchant is an eighteen-year-old computer hacker—a whiz kid and an urban warrior. He’ll climb, abseil and worm his way past the best security measures to pull off onsite hacks that others don’t dare touch.

Sofia Quinn has a killer smile, and by the time you’re done noticing it, she’s got you offering up your wallet, your car, and anything else she desires. She holds LaRoux Industries responsible for the mysterious death of her father and is out for revenge at any cost.

When a LaRoux Industries security breach interrupts Gideon and Sofia’s separate attempts to infiltrate their headquarters, they’re forced to work together to escape. Each of them has their own reason for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries, and neither trusts the other. But working together might be the best chance they have to expose the secrets LRI is so desperate to hide.

trialsofapolloThe Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo, #1) by Rick Riordan

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

15 thoughts on “In Which I Broke My Book Buying Ban

    1. Haha, well my justification was definitely ‘well, I won’t be coming back here anytime soon, so I might as well!’ Oops, haha. But yes, they are pretty aren’t they! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I am really loving Cinder, I didn’t think that I would be enjoying it this much, but I am! I am really looking forward to reading the Starboard trilogy. I didn’t realise that Amie Kaufman had co-written another series until I walked into the store! I’m glad that you’re enjoying it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And yes, the spines are absolutely stunning! That’s what attracted my attention in the bookstore… but the story itself was what sold me. It sounds amazing! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Kudos to you! I don’t think I can ever put a ban on myself from buying books, I have no sense of willpower. That is a great haul, The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorites and I just finished ACOMAF the other day. The only thing I can say about ACOMAF is drop what you are doing and READ IT NOW haha. Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I am actually surprised that I had the willpower for one month! But I couldn’t control myself once I entered this amazing bookstore.

      It is nice to know that you like The Lunar Chronicles. I didn’t realise how much I would love the first book, but Cinder is incredible so far. I can’t wait to see where it goes. AND I CANNOT WAIT TO READ ACOMAF! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhh what an amazing haul 😍😍😍 So happy you got The Hidden Oracle! It’s such an amazing book. I really need to read The Lunar Chronicles and the Starbound series (the covers are so gorgeous).

    Congrats on sticking to your book buying ban too! And good luck for your current one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lauren! I cannot wait to read The Hidden Oracle, but I still have so much to read before then *cries* But Rick Riordan is such an amazing author, I may need to make an exception! 🙂

      Like

  3. That is an impressive haul and if you’re going to break your ban you might as well go all out haha. I absolutely adore the Starbound trilogy and the covers are just so beautiful. The Lunar Chronicles are just as epic. These books should definitely keep you occupied for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was definitely my thought, haha! I’ve nearly finished Cinder, and it is absolutely incredible. I cannot wait to finish this series, I am finding it to be amazing! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

