Review: The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus, #2) by Rick Riordan

sonofneptunePercy is confused. When he awoke from his long sleep, he didn’t know much more than his name. His brain fuzz is lingering, even after the wolf Lupa told him he is a demigod and trained him to fight with the pen/sword in his pocket. Somehow Percy manages to make it to a camp for half-bloods, despite the fact that he has to keep killing monsters along the way. But the camp doesn’t ring any bells with him. The only thing he can recall from his past is another name: Annabeth

Hazel is supposed to be dead. When she lived before, she didn’t do a very good job of it. Sure, she was an obedient daughter, even when her mother was possessed by greed. But that was the problem — when the Voice took over her mother and commanded Hazel to use her “gift” for an evil purpose, Hazel couldn’t say no. Now because of her mistake, the future of the world is at risk. Hazel wished she could ride away from it all on the stallion that appears in her dreams.

Frank is a klutz. His grandmother says he is descended from heroes and can be anything he wants to be, but he doesn’t see it. He doesn’t even know who his father is. He keeps hoping Apollo will claim him, because the only thing he is good at is archery — although not good enough to win camp war games. His bulky physique makes him feel like an ox, especially infront of Hazel, his closest friend at camp. He trusts her completely — enough to share the secret he holds close to his heart.

Beginning at the “other” camp for half-bloods and extending as far as the land beyond the gods, this breathtaking second installment of the Heroes of Olympus series introduces new demigods, revives fearsome monsters, and features other remarkable creatures, all destined to play a part in the Prophesy of Seven.

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon


Whilst the Greek gods will always be my favourite, I really liked the inclusion of the Roman gods. Rick Riordan seriously blows my mind. The Heroes of Olympus series only continues to expand this marvellous and spectacular world, and the inclusion of the Roman gods is very interesting. I will always want to be a member of Camp Half-Blood, though. Camp Jupiter is not the kind of camp that I would want to attend — however, I really, really like the differences that Riordan made between the camps, especially with Camp Jupiter being a multi-generational camp.

  • Plus, we also get to see the Amazons! Honestly, meeting the Amazons were probably my favourite part of the entire book.

Percy Jackson is officially back! I really don’t think that it’s a secret that Percy Jackson is one of my all time favourite characters — I have always loved his humorous internal dialogue during Percy Jackson and the Olympians. So, it was awesome to finally have Percy back — he was still the funny, brave and good friend that he has always been. Plus, I absolutely loved the fact that despite Percy forgetting the majority of his memories, his most prominent thought was always Annabeth. That simply made my shipper heart flutter!

And we got to know some pretty awesome new characters. I was kind of disappointed that this book didn’t follow the marvellous Jason, Piper and Leo (as I instantly fell in love with them in the last book), but I still found myself enjoying these new (and old) characters.

  • Excluding Percy, Hazel is by far my favourite character. Not only is Hazel’s backstory both interesting and heartbreaking (and very different to anything that I’ve read recently), but she also possesses such a sweet personality and a courageous heart. I like how she developed throughout the book; although her development was a little slowly, I definitely think that she came into her own during her visit to the Amazons.
  • It took me a while to warm up to Frank, but in the end, I actually grew to like him. There was just ‘something’ about Frank that I didn’t quite like when I initially started reading this book. But as the story progressed, I actually found Frank’s story kind of interesting. Though, I do wish that he was more likeable. (Does anybody think the same?)
  • I really wish that we could have seen more of the most magnificent character: Reyna. I have come to the official conclusion that Reyna is my absolute favourite secondary character from the two series that I have read from Rick Riordan. I absolutely love how strong Reyna is, both physically and mentally, and she is also an incredible leader. Riordan does a wonderful job writing such strong and interesting female characters, and Reyna is a perfect example.

I’m a little disappointed about one thing: this trio (Percy, Hazel and Frank) felt a little forced to me. When I started Percy Jackson and the Olympians I instantly fell in love with Percy, Annabeth and Grover, and when I started The Lost Hero I even fell in love with Jason, Piper and Leo. However, it took me a little longer to feel the same for Percy, Hazel and Frank. I just don’t think the chemistry was initially there, and that Riordan was trying to force a friendship between the three of them. By the end of the book, I did grow to like them… Did anybody else feel this way?

fourstars

IMG_7258

4 thoughts on “Review: The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus, #2) by Rick Riordan

  1. Brilliant review! The Greek Gods will always be my favourite too, but it was definitely interesting learning about the Roman ones and seeing that side of things. Reyna is AMAZING. I love her so much! Also, yeah, I definitely see where you’re coming from regarding Percy, Hazel and Frank. It’s been a while since I’ve read this series so I can’t remember everything, but it definitely wasn’t as cohesive as some of the other friendship groups. I feel like over the books it does develop brilliantly though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lauren! I’m glad that I’m not the only one that found this friendship group as cohesive as the others. I’m looking forward to seeing how it develops further, I have a lot of faith in Rick Riordan’s writing so I’m sure it will develop wonderfully 🙂

      Like

  2. Yep, Camp Half-Blood is much better!
    It’s been a while since I read this series, and I have to say that I completely forgot that we only get to meet Hazel and Frank in the second book. I also can’t remember Reyna at all for some reason?
    I’m personally not a big Frank fan, and I agree that he and Percy have a strange friendship. But I remember loving the book anyway. 😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

