Comic Review: Silk #0 – The Life and Times of Cindy Moon

IMG_7875

Published: October 28th, 2015

Summary: Cindy Moon exploded into the Marvel Universe when we learned she was bitten by the same radioactive spider that empowered Spider-Man! She then went on to save Peter Parker’s life (more than once!) and traverse the Spider-Verse. Now, as Silk, Cindy is on her own in New York City, searching for her past, defining her own future, and webbing up wrongdoers along the way! But she’s about to cross the Black Cat’s path, and that’s not good news for her! Silk has been picking at the edges of Black Cat’s operation, and Felicia Hardy has had about enough. Felicia gets the drop on Cindy, and Silk hits rock bottom. Can even a team-up with Spider-Man save the day? Plus: a date with Johnny Storm! Secrets of Silk’s past revealed! Will Cindy Moon ever find her family? Collecting SILK #1-7.


This was the first ever Marvel comic that I have read… and it was brilliant. I usually read DC Comics, so I was pretty excited to finally venture into reading some Marvel comics. I decided to pick up Silk entirely on a whim (I mean, the drawings look absolutely incredible) and I was not disappointed. In fact, this would have to be one of my all time favourite comics! I cannot wait to read more about Silk in the near future.

cindymoon3

Cindy Moon has quickly become one of my favourite superheroes. This is my favourite type of superhero. In the majority of comics, superheroes possess either upsetting or distraught pasts, and whilst Cindy Moon is no exception, her story is incredibly different to a lot of other superheroes that I have had the pleasure to read. After getting bitten by the same radioactive spider that transformed Spider-man, Cindy spent almost ten years alone in a bunker. And this comic does a truly wonderful job at portraying the internal hardships that Cindy goes through in order to readjust to a normal life.

Cindy’s story is not only one about attempting to become the superhero, Silk; but also a story about discovering who she is personally. I actually like to think that this story of one of self-discovery. She is my favourite type of superhero because despite all of these hardships, she continues to push forward and look ahead. To me, this makes her so much more relatable and I like the fact that despite superheroes being almost ‘otherworldly’ that they can seem so human.

Most importantly, Cindy is not defined by her relationship with others. What I absolutely love about the character of Cindy is the fact that she is such a mentally and emotionally strong person, despite the personal hardships she has faced. (Though, additionally, I must add that she is also physically strong. Those fighting sequences were awesome!) Also, perhaps most importantly, Cindy is not defined by her relationships with other people. Instead, I would define Cindy by her internal strength, her ability to keep moving forward despite so many hardships, her humourous nature, her fearlessness and the determination she possesses in attempting to find her family.

cindymoon2

I am also deeply in love with the artwork. Every time that I read a comic book, I always find myself wishing that I possessed the talent to draw as beautifully as these artists. And Silk is not exception. The story really comes alive throughout these panels, and Cindy is also drawn so perfectly — she practically jumps off the page!

Any negatives?

  • I really didn’t like the issue with the Fantastic Four — it felt a little out of place within the overall story.
  • I don’t know how, but Black Cat could have been a much better villain. She kind of felt a little flat and two-dimensional. She definitely could have been developed better.

fivestars

IMG_7873

4 thoughts on “Comic Review: Silk #0 – The Life and Times of Cindy Moon

Leave a Reply

