Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2) by Marissa Meyer

scarletCinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon


I really liked how this book continued on from the ending of the last book. After finishing Cinder (which was a truly incredible book, and you can read my review here), I simply had to continue on with Scarlet. It was like a compulsion. And I was definitely not disappointed with the outcome of my decision. Because I went straight onto the next book, I could really appreciate how Marissa Meyer decided to continue Scarlet where Cinder finished. I really, really like how this book continues directly from the ending of Cinder. This means that no time has passed, and that we can see how Cinder is handling the consequences of the end of the last book. This was perhaps the book’s strongest element.

The plot for this book was actually quite exciting. Personally, I find that Scarlet takes on the role of a detective novel. This is because Scarlet is desperately searching for her grandmother with the help of Wolf, and the two work well together in order to find where she was taken. And I liked how as you can continue with the book, as a reader you can see that Scarlet’s storyline connects with Cinder’s storyline.

This book introduced three really interesting new characters. Whilst the characters from the previous book (who are absolutely amazing!) are in Scarlet, the second book additionally introduces a number of new and interesting characters to this truly brilliant series. These are new characters that I have fallen deeply in love with and I really loved seeing how they developed throughout this book.

  • Scarlet is a very strong, determined character. Scarlet is a very different character to Cinder. Whilst both are very strong characters, I would argue that Scarlet is perhaps more passionate and fierce, making her quick to anger and frustration. But this doesn’t make her character any less likeable — instead, I think it makes Scarlet a lot more relatable than Cinder. (Though, Cinder is still my favourite character of this entire series!)
  • I’m still a little unsure about Wolf — but I really liked how Marissa Meyer characterised him. I am not entirely sure if I like Wolf or not (does anybody else feel this way?), but I like how Marissa Meyer wrote him. I like how he was written as awkward and uncomfortable around Scarlet or new people, but at times I think that he was also a little cliched. He is kind of portrayed as the attractive, ‘secretive’ loner who seems to have a magnetic presence. But I can’t wait to see how he develops in future books.
  • I may be a little in love with Thorne. So, um, Thorne is fantastic. He is definitely a wonderful addition to the cast of The Lunar Chronicles, providing some much needed humour in such a series setting. There is a lot of sadness in this series, so it is really nice to have a character that provides a few laughs. He is downright hilarious and definitely very charming.

The relationship between Scarlet and Wolf was sweet, but it was a little cliched. I may really love the relationship between Scarlet and Wolf, but it is a little cliched. (Don’t throw hate me!) I only say this because when Wolf meets Scarlet she changes his whole world view and he wants to change because of her. I don’t know, this is just something that is constantly used in books/movies/television, I just wanted something different.

The Lunars are actually quite terrifying — Marissa Meyer has done a wonderful job at creating them. I would NOT want to come face-to-face with a Lunar! Seriously, these people are absolutely terrifying. Like shaking-in-your-boots or pee-your-pants kind of terrifying. I honestly find any type of person to be scary that is capable of changing somebody’s mind or memories or sight in literature. That is way too much power in my opinion! But Marissa Meyer does a great job at distinguishing her villains from other series. These feel really unique to me.

ALSO, THIS BOOK HAD A SPACESHIP! AND SPACESHIPS ARE PURE AWESOMENESS!

This series is truly amazing, and I cannot wait to continue on to Cress!

fivestars

IMG_7877

7 thoughts on “Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2) by Marissa Meyer

  1. Brilliant review, and I am so so glad you loved this book as well!
    I kind of agree with you about Scarlet and Wolf’s relationship but I think it improves a little in Cress and Winter (have you started the third book yet?!) it gets developed past the cliche point in the next two books.
    Also I completely agree with Thorne as well, he is literally my favourite male character in this series and every scene with him in is pure gold! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank-you, Beth! No, I haven’t started Cress yet, but it definitely on my list to read soon. I just want to finish the Heroes of Olympus series first. But I am glad to know that their relationship improves and develops in the next two books. I can’t wait to read them! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well Cress is amazing so you’ll definitely love it when you do get around to it, and ohh, I need to read the Heroes of Olympus series. I’ve just finished the Percy Jackson books and loved those so the next series is very near the top of my to-read list now! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great Review, love how you broke the book down into the different elements and explained them. It’s a different approach and I really liked it.
    I’m a bit of a sucker for Scarlet and Wolf, especially in Cress and Winter but I do see your point about it being a bit cliche right now.
    Hope you enjoy the rest of the series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

