Challenging The Arguments Regarding Zenith: Review of Zenith, Part 1 by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

29569157Most know her as the Bloody Baroness, the captain of a fearsome glass starship called The Marauder. Androma and her crew strike terror in the hearts of those who cross them amongst the many corners of the Mirabel Galaxy.

When a routine mission goes rogue, the all-female crew is captured by a bounty hunter from Andi’s past and forced into a job that could, quite literally, start a war that will devour worlds.

Meanwhile, on the far side of the galaxy, the ruthless ruler Nor waits in the shadows of the planet Xen Ptera, biding her time. The final pieces are about to fall into place, liberating a plan that will tear Mirabel in two.

As the Marauder hurtles toward the unknown, there is one lesson that proves to be true: No one can be trusted in a galaxy that runs on lies and illusion.

Goodreads || Amazon


THIS WAS MY EXACT REACTION AFTER FINISHING:

i-love-it-yelling-girl

Seriously. I really liked this book!

After finishing this book and reading the numerous reviews on Goodreads, I knew that I couldn’t write this review in the same structure as my other ones. Instead, after reading, I wanted to address and challenge the arguments that a lot of reviewers have made against this book.

Firstly, it annoys me what some people are saying about one of the authors: Sasha Alsberg.

Sasha Alsberg is a very popular booktuber, already making herself well known in the book community. I have not personally watched a lot of her videos, but it really annoys me with what some people are saying about her. I have seen a number of comments on Goodreads stating “I only read this to see if she could write”“This book has changed my opinion of Sasha quite negatively”, “This is her first book so I wasn’t expecting much” and even “Writing isn’t her forte, she should stick to making youtube videos”. Are people actually serious?

Just because you do not like a book, does not mean that you put the author down or attack them. Authors are people too, they have feelings and are obviously passionate about their work. When it comes to writing a review, you should be writing one that is constructive, balancing the strengths and the weaknesses of a novel, and never personally criticising the author with something that has nothing to do with their writing.

Argument 1: This first part was way too short.

Personally, I would have to agree with this argument. I think that the authors have done themselves a small disservice by not releasing all the parts of the book at the same time. It takes a chapter or two to really get into the story… and then it suddenly ends. It was actually quite disappointing to finally get into the exciting part of the story, only for it to end and we have to wait a couple of months to find out what happens next.

Plus, when it comes to people reviewing the story, we can only review from what we have received. Because the ending is a little disappointing (because it stops quite abruptly), I don’t blame people for rating it lower.

(Perhaps we should consider this part like an episode to a television series?)

Argument 2: The main character is a copy of Celaena Sardothian / This is “Throne of Glass” in space.

I find myself to be conflicted about this argument. A part of me feels like people are picking at straws, but at the same time I can see where they are coming from. I would love to hear your opinion about this argument, below!

A lot of reviewers are arguing that because Androma, the protagonist, possesses white hair, two katana swords and a tough, murders-innocent-people characterisation, she is a duplicate of Celaena Sardothian. I guess that you could almost describe Celaena this way, but I don’t really see Androma as a Celaena-copy. Personally, I find Celaena to be a lot more likable in comparison to Androma, and Celaena isn’t a person that murders everyone in sight — we like her because she kills evil characters.

Also, does Sarah J. Maas have “dibs” on characters with white hair? Or does she have “dibs” on characters that are morally ambiguous and kill other people? Is she the only author that can write about a character that has a murderous hunger? That’s like saying that if a main character has bright orange hair than the author is copying Clary from City of Bones. Or if the character is “the chosen one” they are copying Harry Potter or Buffy the Vampire Slayer. There are a lot of tropes out there, and there are numerous authors that implement them into their stories.

I don’t really see how we can say that Androma is a copy of Celaena when she hasn’t had the chance to develop yet (the fault of only releasing one part at a time). At the moment, we only know the bare minimum. At the very least, we should be waiting until the entire book is finished to judge this aspect.

Argument 3: There was way to much info-dumping.

I do agree with this, somewhat. I understand that the authors wanted to introduce readers to this brand new world that they created — however, they could have introduced various locations gradually instead of bombarding readers with the entire galaxy in this small part. This could have been done properly if the book was released all at once, but because they are only releasing 60-odd pages they needed to welcome readers to this world quite quickly. Understandable, yes. Smart decision, perhaps not.

Final Thoughts:

However, at the end of the day, I thought this book was great. There are so many elements that I really enjoyed that I think readers are forgetting to incorporate into their reviews. Personally, I think that you should read this book, because:

The main characters are a bad-ass group of young women: I absolutely love the fact that this book showcases the pure badassery of female characters. This was definitely the element that attracted me to this book. I wanted to witness a group of female characters that fights against the universe, working together, and I was not disappointed. These characters are very bad-ass, sometimes bordering on the line of villains, but I think they can be described best as anti-heroes. I cannot wait to see how these characters develop.

There’s an evil queen that I believe will be pretty awesome: From the small chapter that we received about this queen, I am very interested to see how she develops. I hope that she becomes a pretty awesome, evil character. Fingers crossed that she becomes as intriguing as I think she will.

There is a main, alien character that has blue skin: Okay, this may seem really unimportant, but it has been a long time since I have read a science fiction book that possesses an alien character as one of the main characters… with blue coloured skin. I just thought that this was awesome, and I cannot wait to learn more about her.

I cannot wait to see how this book develops in the next few installments!

fourstars

IMG_8065

What are your thoughts about Zenith? Did you enjoy it? Do you agree or disagree with what was said above?

12 thoughts on “Challenging The Arguments Regarding Zenith: Review of Zenith, Part 1 by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

  1. I have been eyeing this one for a bit, but I find it a little off-putting that they are releasing it in such small parts. I can read 60 pages in less than an hour. :/ Maybe I will wait until they put the entire thing out?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the structure of this review! I think people are being really unfair to Sasha. She’s such a lovely person and even if you don’t like the book there’s no need to be awful to the authors! I haven’t read Throne of Glass I think it’s annoying when people claim that certain character traits belong to an author just because they have a hyped series. It was like back in the day during the Twilight hype and people acted like Stephenie Meyer owned vampires, haha. Whilst I didn’t love this, I did really enjoy it and I’ll definitely be continuing the series. I feel like it would have worked so much better if it was released completed or even in two parts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely. I remember when Twilight was becoming such a hyped book, and people were going around claiming that every other vampire book was copying hers. And now, because Throne of Glass has become such a hyped series (one that I personally love) people will say another book is copying it because of the colour of a character’s hair? Or because she kills people? Sarah J. Maas doesn’t own those characteristics, just like Stephanie Meyer doesn’t own vampires.
      And yeah, I agree 100%. They should have definitely released this as one entire book instead of individual parts.

      Like

  3. I really enjoyed the first part and I’m so excited to read what happens next! I’m just hoping they release it in print when all the parts come out! I’ll probably re-read part one when part two comes out.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel similarly to your thoughts pretty much all around. I liked the way you stated the counter argument about the Celaena comparison because I would never have compared the two characters if I hadn’t seen reviews on Goodreads comparing them. I liked Zenith a lot too and I am excited to see what comes next as the Marauder reaches Xen Ptera!
    Katie x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

