22 Fictional Characters For 22 Years On This Earth (Happy Birthday to Me!)

IMG_81801

Happy Birthday to Me!

So, today, I finally turned twenty-two. HOW SCARY.

And because I have turned twenty-two, I have decided to share with you guys a list of all my current favourite fictional characters — well, the first twenty-two. I HAVE AN ENORMOUS LIST and it was so hard to condense it to twenty-two. Though, to be honest with you guys, my list is forever changing with every new book that I read, haha.

cityofbones22. Clary Fray from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Clary Fray was, perhaps, the first protagonist that I ever grew to love. Her inner strength, her determination to save her mother and the immense love that she possesses for her friends and family were traits that were extremely inspiring to me when I was twelve/thirteen. I wanted to be exactly like Clary. I wanted to have the wonderful talent of drawing and painting like she did, the same inner strength and confidence she had to become a Shadowhunter, and the interesting friendships she had with other Shadowhunters and Downworlders. Clary will always be one of my favourite characters in fiction, and I am immensely appreciate that Cassandra Clare spent so much time developing her into a three-dimensional, courageous, determined and life-like character.

scorchtrials121. Thomas from The Maze Runner by James Dashner

To be honest with you, I have only read the first two books of this trilogy and have yet to read the last one. But I cannot deny my absolute love for Thomas in the first two books, especially the first one. James Dashner does a wonderful job at developing the world through Thomas’ eyes and through this he has created a very interesting and entertaining character. Whilst The Scorch Trials didn’t capture the pure amazingness that Thomas possessed like he did in The Maze Runner, I still quite like Thomas. And, to be even more honest, the only thing that could make his character ten times better is if Dylan O’Brien played him in the movie… oh wait, he did! Seriously, Thomas could not get any better.

2 (1)20. Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

Oh, my beautiful Luna Lovegood. Ever since J. K. Rowling introduced us to this beautiful character, I have definitely named her as one of my all time favourite fictional characters. What I love so much about her character is her loving loyalty to her father, her ability to see magic absolutely everywhere, and how true that she remains to herself despite what other people may think of her. She has so many traits and characteristics that are inspiring for all readers, no matter what age you are. I know that I definitely strive to possess the ability to see happiness and magic everywhere, something that I work hard at every single day, especially with all the horrible things happening in the world today.

lightningthief19. Percy Jackson from Percy Jackson and the Olympians Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

I absolutely love Percy Jackson — no matter what series that I am reading. Rick Riordan has done a wonderful job at developing Percy throughout both of these incredible book series. I really love the internal monologue in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, because Rick Riordan’s writing style is very humorous and entertaining — it always made me laugh. I have previously stated that I have enjoyed watching Percy develop from a twelve-year-old child to a (sometimes) mature and caring young man. It has been a truly wonderful journey reading Percy grow up through these books, especially when Rick Riordan does this so subtly. I was reading the third or fourth book in Heroes of Olympus only to suddenly realise that Percy really had grown up from The Lightening Thief.

6b6d3594c4b70b1bc784940e38a648ff18. Dinah Laurel Lance [From the Comics]

I am ‘kind of’ cheating a little bit here, but I cannot get over my absolute love for Dinah Laurel Lance from the comic books (and Arrow if I am being completely honest). I have always enjoyed how tough-as-nails she is, whilst also possessing such a feminine side, and her friendship with Batgirl only continues to highlight her amazing qualities. She is definitely a complicated character, no matter what comic you decide to read, but she is also one of then most fascinating female superheroes to read about. I’m looking forward to reading more about Black Canary in future comics, whilst also perusing my local comic bookstore for any older comics that I have yet to read (which, to be honest, is quite a lot!).

courtmistfury17. Rhysand from A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

A part of me is a little conflicted over my love for Rhysand, especially after his actions during the first book, but A Court of Mist and Fury made me really like him. I think this is because Sarah J. Maas allowed herself to really develop his character throughout the second book. I definitely think that Rhysand is an interesting, quite fascinating, character that has a very intriguing history. His love for his friends and the fact that Rhysand never treated Feyre horribly or try to control her, made his character come across as a perfect love interest. However, Maas made sure that he was “too perfect”, and Rhysand now has a dark past, a history that makes you fall deeply in love with his character. I cannot wait to see how he will develop throughout the next book, and hopefully we get to see much more of him despite Feyre not being around.

5wave16. Cassie Sullivan from The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

I absolutely love Cassie Sullivan, and I definitely feel this is because how Rick Yancey developed her. I haven’t read the next two books (but I got them for my birthday), but I can definitely say from reading the first one that Cassie is one of my favourite characters. The love that she has for her brother, the intelligence that she possesses, the fire she has to keep her promises, and the fact that she never gives up, are only some of the reasons that I absolutely love her character. Yancey has written her so wonderfully that she almost feels real. She is very three-dimensional and I found myself relating to her despite our age difference. Her relationship with her little brother reminded me so much of the relationship that I have with my own younger brother, due to our large age gap.

ladymidnight15. Emma Carstairs from The Dark Artifices by Cassandra Clare

Emma Carstairs is one of my absolute favourite Shadowhunters from this incredible book that introduced us to so many wonderful characters. Though at times she reminds me of Jace, I think it is unfair to call her “the female Jace” like so many readers do. Emma is such a wonderful, flawed character that despite the many hardships that she has had to face, she still stands on her own two feet with her head held high. She loves passionately for her friends, she fights bravely and determinedly, and she isn’t afraid to take risks in order to protect the ones that she loves. But at the same time she is still feminine and fun. Out of the three female protagonists that Cassandra Clare has written so far, Emma is definitely my favourite.

1114. Manon Blackbeak from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Manon Blackbeak was, without a doubt, the best character that Sarah J. Maas could have introduced to this absolutely wonderful series. I like the fact that she is a much darker warrior than Celaena (it’ll be interesting to see how these two characters continue to interact in the last two books), and that she stands by her coven so intensely. Her culture is much more different to the rest of the characters, which definitely has a large part to play with her overall personality. But this just continues to make her such an interesting character. I want to continue learning about Manon in future books, and there is a huge part of me that yearns for Maas to write a novella (or even a series) starring Manon as the protagonist — come on, she’s writing one for Chaol! It would be awesome to learn more about her past, especially.

1213. Magnus Bane from The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

There is no doubt in my mind when I say that Magnus Bane is one of my all time favourite fictional characters, ever! Cassandra Clare has done a wonderful job at developing and growing Magnus throughout the years, making him one of the most three-dimensional characters that I have had the pleasure to read. His appearances are some of my favourite scenes in any of the books, to be honest with you. But, how could you not enjoy the atmosphere that his character creates? Though, I absolutely love Magnus’ relationship with Alec the most, but I have always enjoyed reading about him interacting with so many of the Shadowhunters cast. I cannot wait to see more of Magnus throughout the rest of the books, I can only imagine how much more amazing he is going to become!

barbaragordon12. Barbara Gordon

I have always enjoyed reading comic books featuring Barbara Gordon, a.k.a. Batgirl. This is because Barbara has always been an incredibly strong character, with a fierce attitude, and a wonderful ability to kick the asses of the bad guys. I think that she is one of the most relatable characters in comics and I cannot wait to read the new comics coming out within the next couple of months. However, some people don’t always portray Barbara as wonderfully as some comic book writers, such as Gail Simone, such as the writers of The Killing Joke: The Animated Movie. I absolutely hated how they chose to portray her, almost stripping away the Barbara Gordon that we have grown to love and replacing her with a Barbara Gordon that was merely sexualised. Though, when this character is written correctly, I love her.

throneofglass111. Chaol Westfall from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I understand that not everyone loves Chaol Westfall as much as me — but that does not change my feelings for this incredible character. I remember first reading Throne of Glass and instantly falling in love with him — whilst simultaneously shipping him “hard” with Celaena. I was disappointed that Chaol changed so drastically, but I am extremely interested in seeing how he continues to transform. This transformation felt a little out of the blue to be honest, but  it is starting to sink in. Because, now, thinking about his character after having read the books almost a year ago, I actually found Chaol’s journey to be really entertaining. Whilst I miss the handsome and mysterious Chaol that appeared in the first couple of books, I am enjoying this sort of redemption arc that he is on.

1310. Fred and George Wesley from Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

It is literally impossible for me to choose between these two glorious, amazing and incredible characters, because their awesomeness is definitely equal. Fred and George were definitely the characters that brought so much light to the novels, especially during times that often felt dark. I absolutely love the fact that these two jokers followed their dreams and started a business that wonderfully embodied them perfectly. And don’t even get me started on the emotions that I feel when I think about Harry Potter and the Dealthy Hallows. Seriously. These two have made me laugh, but they have also made me want to roll into a ball and continually cry my eyes out. This is why they are number ten of my list!

cinder9. Cinder from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I have actually finished The Lunar Chronicles yet, but I have fallen absolutely in love with Cinder and cannot wait to see how she continues to develop throughout the last two books of the series. Cinder was definitely a wonderful surprise this year, because she is absolutely everything that I want in a protagonist. She is strong-willed and determined, highly intelligent and creative, and still daydreams of better days and wishes and hopes. I love the friendships that she has made, the relationship that she has developed with Kai, and the passion and motivation she possesses. Cinder is definitely one of the most interesting and entertaining characters that I have read about. And I look forward to seeing this wonderful character develop in the next two books — I am so excited to start Cress, which is extremely high up on my TBR!

ladymidnight8. Julian Blackthorn from The Dark Artifices by Cassandra Clare

When I was composing this list, I just knew that I had to put Julian Blackthorn on it. I strongly believe that whilst Emma Carstairs is the main protagonist for this series, Julian is definitely the heart of the series. He is an incredible character, with so much heart and compassion, with an incredible artistic ability and eye for detail, and with so much love for his siblings. Cassandra Clare has done an absolute wonderful job at developing Julian, making him come across almost human. There is an undeniable sadness to him, and I love how she has realistically portrayed Julian to feel as though he has the entire world on his shoulders — which isn’t very far from the truth. My absolute love for this character is forever growing the more that I think about him.

147. Isabelle Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Isabelle Lightwood is definitely one of my all time favourite characters from The Mortal Instruments series — without a single doubt. Isabelle is a wonderful example of a female character who is a capable warrior and still possesses many feminine qualities. She is fierce and determined and strong and a fighter, whilst also enjoying clothes and dancing and having fun. She loves her friends and family — especially Alec — so passionately that it is seriously beautiful and, at times, incredibly heartbreaking. To be 110% honest with you all, I always found myself identifying with Isabelle, feeling as though we had a lot in common, despite her being a fictional character. She is, without a doubt, one of the BEST CHARACTERS EVER AND EVER AND EVER!

Harley_Quinn_Vol_2_9_Textless6. Harley Quinn 

OH MY GOD, I ABSOLUTELY LOVE LOVE LOVE HARLEY QUINN! Seriously, this is the comic book character that allowed me to fall in love with reading comic books. This is because Harley Quinn is such an awesome character. Harley Quinn is incredibly hilarious, strong-minded and just so much fun to read about. She has seriously made me laugh so hard that I actually found myself crying! Yes, she’s over the top and sometimes a little ridiculous, but that is what makes her character so wonderful! My love for this character is forever growing — I have a pop vinyl, a poster, comics, a mug and even a notebook. Also, I am so excited to watch the movie Suicide Squad (which finally comes out this week, so hopefully I’ll be able to find the time to see it)!

losthero5. Leo Valdez from Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

I absolutely love Leo — he was such a surprise character for me. But the moment that I began reading the Heroes of Olympus, Leo automatically became one of my all time favourite characters that Rick Riordan has ever written. (Yes, I even like him more than I do Percy! Oh my god!) He is definitely one of the most hilarious characters that I have had the pleasure of reading about, but the fact that he employs that humour to hide what he is really feeling is so relatable — I am always like that. Throughout the series, he has made me laugh and he has made me cry. I just love how he has developed throughout Heroes of Olympus, especially when it came to his friendships and relationship. He is simply an awesome character, and I just hope that he shows up in more of Rick Riordan’s books because this cannot be the last of him!

harrypotterandtheprisoner4. Hermione Granger from Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

This is definitely not a surprise — I mean how could a bibliophile not mention this absolutely fantastic character within a list like this? I mean, come on! Hermione Granger is one of the most fantastic literary characters to ever exist and I am forever grateful that J. K. Rowling wrote this beautiful, wonderful and extraordinary character. I love that she is celebrated for her intelligence, her passion and her determination. She is a wonderful role model for young women, especially because she possesses these qualities, reminding us that it is important to simply be ourselves. It amazes me how much this character is continually celebrated, still to this day, by numerous people. But it doesn’t surprise me, because this character is beyond amazing… without a single doubt in my mind.

cityoffallenangels3. Simon Lewis from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Simon Lewis is pretty much the male version of me — well, so I believe, haha. I have always enjoyed reading about Simon, he is one of my favourite characters from the entire The Mortal Instruments without a doubt. He is the ultimate geek, with a strong love for music. I absolutely love every single one of the scenes that Simon is in. The majority of the time his scenes make me crack up laughing, and this especially due to his sarcastic sense of humour. Any other time, Simon’s scenes usually make me quite emotional. This character has been through a tremendous journey, full of many ups and downs, and I have enjoyed watching him grow and develop throughout the entire six book series. Plus, his relationship with Isabelle is definitely one of my favourites.

markofathena2. Annabeth Chase from Percy Jackson and the Olympians Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

One of the reasons that I love Rick Riordan’s books so much is because of the wonderful Annabeth Chase. I have loved her character since beginning The Lightning Thief and that love was definitely solidified during the Heroes of Olympus — especially The Mark of Athena. Annabeth is another wonderful young woman that is celebrated for her intelligence, her determination, her courage and her bravery, her inner strength, and her strong-will. She also fights incredibly fiercely for her friends, never giving up in the face of danger, and extremely wise, not just clever. I have enjoyed watching her develop throughout the two series, and I cannot wait to read more of Rick Riordan’s books in order to see where Annabeth is now. Seriously, I really love this girl!

151. Celaena Sardothian from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Does this really surprise anyone at all? I am pretty sure that you guys already know how much I absolutely love Celaena Sardothian! I have enjoyed reading about Celaena, watching her develop and become the strong-minded and determined future Queen that we all know that she is capable of becoming. Celaena is perhaps the BEST example of a female character being a warrior and still maintaining a number of feminine qualities, such as her love for fashion and nice things. I am absolutely nothing like Celaena, but I love the fact that we both share such a strong love for books. Her reaction to entering the library and discovering shelves upon shelves of various books was one of my most favourite scenes that Sarah J. Maas has written. I love that she is a truly complex character, growing throughout the series into a perfectly written, three-dimensional individual. I cannot wait for the next book to come out in September — I really, really want it right now though!

Do you agree with any of these characters on the list?

13 thoughts on “22 Fictional Characters For 22 Years On This Earth (Happy Birthday to Me!)

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! I hope you’re having a fabulous day!!!

    I definitely love a lot of the characters in your list. Percy and Annabeth will always have a special place in my bookish heart. I loved watching them grow throughout the series. I will never get enough of those two. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

