Review: Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne (SPOILERS)

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon


This is, perhaps, one of the hardest books that I have ever had to review. I have attempted to be completely objective, but, unfortunately, there is no way that I can review this book other than purely with emotions. Because this book hit me right in the feels. It made me feel nostalgic, like I came back home after such a long, long, long time. And there is no possible way that my emotions are going to make me review this book entirely objectively — so, if you are looking for a purely objective review, then this probably isn’t the review for you.

Before we start, I would like to state something first. Was this book perfect and without flaws? No. Did it sometimes read like fan-fiction? Sometimes. But, for what this book was, and the nostalgia that it brought, I did enjoy it. And that may be an unpopular opinion.

This was a wonderful, new way to read about the Harry Potter world. When I first heard that this was going to be written in play format, I was initially disappointed. But, once I purchased the book and began reading, I actually came to realise that this was a cool, different way to experience the world of Harry Potter. It may not be the conventional way, but it did offer something completely different and I am okay with that.

I absolutely loved Ginny. I have always loved Ginny throughout the books, but this was perhaps the first time that she actually became one of my all time favourites. I thought that she was an incredibly sweet mother and a caring wife, still possessing the inner strength and unwavering love and passion she had within the first seven books. It was quite strange to me that she managed to out shine characters like the main trio, but I seriously fell in love with her character.

The plot was really different from anything that Harry Potter did previously, but it still felt grounded in the Harry Potter universe. I don’t want to give away spoilers here, but I just want to say that the overall plot of the story was completely different from anything that J. K. Rowling did in the first seven books, but it was still impressively grounded in the universe that she created forever ago. And it really impressed me how much it connected itself to the world of Harry Potter. It did feel so much like an extension, but rather something that could have plausibly happened after the events of the previous seven books.

I would never say that this book is perfect. It is not. It has its flaws and shortcomings, but for what it is and for what it offered, I love it. And, to be honest, it is about Harry Potter — I would have loved this regardless of what J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne wrote.

fivestars

*SPOILERS BELOW AND WATCH OUT FOR THE COMMENTS BELOW*

I do, however, want to write about a few occurrences in the books that may spoil it for some readers if they have yet to finish the book. This is because I cannot get these ideas out of my head and need to share them with you all. So, please, read this section of the post at your own risk. I would hate to spoil the magic for you.

OKAY, HERE WE GO.

I absolutely adore the friendship between Albus and Scorpius — but I felt like they missed a huge opportunity to represent a LGBT+ relationship. Seriously, these two are adorable. And I really, really, really want to see more of their friendship. I would have enjoyed seeing their friendship develop more, overtime, but because of the format I understand that that isn’t really an option. But I loved their scenes together, and I especially love how “adorkable” Scorpius is (he is probably my favourite character). I want a book entirely about this character, showing us his adventures alongside Albus. That would be pretty spectacular. Though, did anybody else think that these two characters would end up together? The writers definitely missed an opportunity to showcased a LGBT+ relationship.

Whilst the plot with Cedric was certainly fascinating, I didn’t particularly like what they decided his fate would be if he remained alive. Did anybody else have a major problem with this? I absolutely love the character of Cedric, and whilst he obviously isn’t perfect, he remains to be one of my favourite characters from the Harry Potter world. His fate was devastating in the books and his death certainly had a ripple affect. But, I absolutely hated how they decided to transform him into a completely different person because Albus and Scorpius changed a few events. Because they humiliated him and he consequently became resentful of that embarrassment, he suddenly becomes a Death Eater, kills Neville Longbottom and that causes Voldermort to reign? I just didn’t find this to be plausible, especially due to how he was characterised in the books. URGH.

What did you think of the book?

IMG_8188

11 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne (SPOILERS)

    1. I think that it would definitely come across better if you were going to see it performed live on stage. Probably a much better experience. But I’m glad that you agree with me about Albus and Scorpius, and Cedric. Especially Cedric. That is definitely the part of the play that I really, really, REALLY didn’t like.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

