Review: These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

13138635It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone. 

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help. 

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon


This book is more romance than it is science fiction. I am not a huge fan of romance books. I do not read contemporary young adult books. (Not for any particular reason, I don’t have any interest, is all.) Instead, I always read science fiction and fantasy books, and I don’t mind if these books have romance as a subplot. However, this book was definitely more romance than science fiction — and I think that would be my biggest complaint regarding this novel. The science fiction elements were incredibly interesting and I wanted to learn more about them. Yet, the story focused mainly on developing the relationship between Tarver and Lilac. I was a little disappointed by this, but I can definitely say that the authors did a wonderful job at realistically developing Tarver and Lilac’s relationship.

The two main characters, Tarver and Lilac, were originally quite flat — however, they developed into interesting, three-dimensional characters. When I first began reading this book I was concerned that Tarver and Lilac were going to be very stereotypical characters. Most of the time they were, disappointingly. For example, Tarver was your typical nice guy who was not a member of the elite, and became a military hero whilst constantly rolling his eyes at the elite. Lilac is your typical rich girl, who walks around in dresses and refuses to listen to reason. (She even continues to wear heels on the planet despite having the opportunity to change her shoes, ugh, why?) This really annoyed me. And even when the characters developed, they still possessed these stereotypical tropes. I would have preferred this to be different.

The plot was interesting, but it took a while to really get into. But, once I did, I was addicted. Unfortunately, it took a while for the plot to take off, but once it did — oh my god. This plot is incredibly addictive, both the science fiction elements and the romantic relationship between the two main characters. As much as it annoyed me that these characters were stereotypical, their relationship was really interesting to read about. It developed naturally and slowly, making it appear more real. I couldn’t wait to find out what was happening and read this book so quickly because I just needed to know. How is their relationship going to end up? What is happening on this deserted planet? Ugh, so much love for this storyline. And this is why I am giving this book four stars.

The world, or should I say universe, was quite creative. The overall story possessed a true “Romeo and Juliet” kind of vibe. And not just because of the relationship between Tarver and Lilac. The society that this story is set in is divided into the rich (or the elite) and the poor. This can be seen quite clearly on the spaceship, where the elite are walking around wearing long dresses, impossibly high heels and large, beautiful hairstyles. This was a really interesting aspect of the novel — though, I find it impossible to believe that we would go back to horrid corsets, haha.

I would definitely recommend giving this book a shot. Even if you don’t particularly like science fiction, because the romance elements of this book will definitely capture you. SERIOUSLY, SO ADDICTIVE.

fourstars

IMG_7858

12 thoughts on “Review: These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. Great review 🙂
    I’ve always wanted to read this book, but haven’t gotten around to it. Mainly for the first reason you stated. I assumed it’d be more romance than sci-fi, and I think I’d prefer more sci-fi. But you say the plot is really interesting once you get into it, so I’ll probably still give it a go. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that is definitely the most disappointing aspect. Yet, the plot is really interesting and is full of mystery. It actually surprised me how much it intrigued me. But yeah, definitely give it a go. Just don’t expect as much sci-fi, otherwise you’ll be majorly disappointed.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice review! I gave it 4 stars as well, though for different reasons. I was also surprised at this book because I was expecting very stereotypical characters and plot-lines with a fast-paced plot, but it ended up being quite a slow burn, and I loved that. I thought the characters were well-rounded out and had a few typical traits, but overall I never felt they were too trope-y. I docked it a star because once they actually broke the ice and admitted their romantic feelings, the relationship took a turn for the cheesy/cliche. I read the 2nd book (and the short story that goes in between), but haven’t gotten to the final book yet. As a whole, I think it’s an awesome series and hope it carries through to the end well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I definitely agree with the point that you made about once they got together the relationship was a little cliched. Whilst it developed nicely up until that point, they were almost instantly lovey-dovey. I’m very excited to read the next book in the series and the final book as well. I had no idea that there was a short story in-between, so thank-you so much for telling me! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review! This book has been on my TBR for awhile now, but I’m a bit hesitant at buying it because I’m not a hug fan of sci-fi that focuses mainly on romance. Lilac and Tarver seem kind of annoying as well, at least from what you mentioned. I agree that they seem stereotypical, and I haven’t even read the book. Other than that, I am very excited to read this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank-you! Despite the fact that I found the main characters quite stereotypical and the focus was primarily on the romance rather than the science fiction elements, this is a really good book. I would definitely recommend giving this book a go and deciding for yourself, but just go in with these things in mind. I think going in with high expectations may ruin the read for you. But, seriously, once the plot gets going, the story is quite addictive. I hope that you enjoy this book regardless! Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

