Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvator // Or, An Entire Post About My Undying Love For Blue and Her Raven Boys

8Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon


ASDFGHJK OH MY GOD THIS BOOK IS SERIOUSLY FANTASTIC!

giphy

Yes. No joke, that was my reaction once I finished this book.

This book amazed me from the very first chapter. I was instantly intrigued and fell deeply in love with every single character and I just COULDN’T STOP READING!

The storyline was really different and really interesting. I have never read a book like this before. This is such an incredible story — and not just the group’s endeavour to discover the whereabouts of Glendower. There are so many beautiful layers to this book, all entwining and threading together to create a story that is so intriguing that I couldn’t stop reading. The best aspect of this book is the way that the characters come together, and the developing relationships between them. Every layer of this story is magical and special and full of wonder. I cannot explain my love for this story more without giving away any spoilers!

These characters are probably some of my favourite characters ever. I want to be best friends with Blue and I want to hang out with the Raven Boys. Actually, to be honest, I desperately want my own Raven Boy *laughs*. It has been a while since I have met characters that feel so real to me. Characters that I want to actually meet and spend time with and hang out with. (Seriously, the last time that this has happened so strongly was probably the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.)

  • Blue is an incredible protagonist: relatable, awesome, strong. I was kind of worried that Blue would become one of those “not-like-other-girls” protagonists, but she wasn’t. Yeah, Blue is different from other teenagers and she is not a psychic like the rest of her family — but Blue is perhaps one of the most relatable protagonists in young adult books. I love that she remains herself through everything. She doesn’t let her differences dictate her. Yes, she often feels out of place from everyone (her family, the Raven Boys) but I think that makes her even more relatable. We all understand that kind of longing to fit in. And Maggie Stiefvater does a wonderful job at writing and developing her.
  • Gansey is interesting and I grew to actually really like him. Gansey is an intriguing character. He could have easily fallen into the “cliched-main-male-character” role, but Gansey is something different. I would definitely describe him as the group’s nucleus, because everyone seems to gravitate around him. And I can definitely understand why. There is definitely something mystical and magical about Gansey, like nobody can touch him, like nothing can stop him. I wouldn’t say that he is perfect. He possesses flaws that are real and relatable, like his obsessiveness, his need to control everything around him and his determination to go after what he wants. By the end of the novel, I actually found myself really, really liking him.
  • Ronan is a beautiful creature and we all need to protect him (haha, no shame). Um, please tell me that I am not absolutely insane and not the only person who thinks this way? Because oh my god, I really love Ronan (and that love is only continuing to grow as I am currently reading the second book). There is a darkness within him, but also an undeniable sadness. I love this character so much, and I am really looking forward to seeing how he develops in the future. I NEED MORE RONAN GUYS, NOT JOKING. This sarcastic, angry guy has totally taken my heart. And please don’t tell me that anything happens to him, or hurts him, or whatever. Because my heart could not take it.
  • Adam is incredibly adorkable, and I am interested to see where his character goes. Yes, I have come to the conclusion that Adam is “adorkable”. Yes. There is no way you are going to change my mind. Nope, nope, nope. I love how Adam is very independent, despite a lot of people trying to control him: his parents, and even at times, Gansey. Because despite the strong friendship that the two possess, I do believe that there is an element of control that Gansey has (or tries to have). Plus, I love the relationship that he has with Blue. The two are so sweet together and they connect well because they can relate to one another. I cannot wait to see where Adam’s character goes next, and how Maggie Stiefvater chooses to write him and develop him.
  • Noah really surprised me and he probably made me cry a little. Oh, how I love Noah. (Or, how I love everyone in this series, really.) Noah’s story is very different compared to others, but it is a journey that both surprised me and amazed me. And I’m not joking, his journey throughout this book made me cry a little and I am not giving away any spoilers so you can enjoy (or not enjoy, depending on your perspective of the journey) it for yourself.

Would I recommend this book? Um, yes. Absolutely. Continuously. Always. Forever. Again and again and again and again. The reasons? Beautiful friendships. Daring adventures. Magic and more magic. Family love. Mother and daughter relationships. Psychics, because, awesome. Awkward first relationships. And because you would be an absolute fool to not at least give this book a chance. Seriously, just give this book a go and see how you like it!

Um, so can you see MY ABSOLUTE LOVE FOR THIS SERIES?

MY ABSOLUTE LOVE FOR THESE CHARACTERS?

HAHAHA.

And I just want to say, Maggie Stiefvater:

tumblr_mowjer5HDD1s9frcro1_500

fivestars

(Also, my rating system only allows five stars, but I would seriously give this book a million.)

IMG_8051

8 thoughts on “Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvator // Or, An Entire Post About My Undying Love For Blue and Her Raven Boys

  1. how nice, The Raven Cycle is for me one of the best series out there and i’m really glad you liked it :3, it’s such a different stry from the regular ones and it being appreciated this much makes me so happy! great review!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am persuaded! I have been considering giving this series a go for ages. I read a Maggie Stievfater book ages ago that I didn’t like that much, so I hadn’t really bothered with these. But everyone says that they are so good I now want IN!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You will not be disappointed, Lydia! This is a wonderful series (I’ve almost finished book two and my love for this series has only continued to grow!) and I think if you give it a go you’ll fall as deeply in love with the characters that I have, haha. Thank-you for commenting and I’m so glad I managed to persuade you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

