Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

17347389If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon


I. AM. IN. LOVE. WITH. THIS. SERIES.

2brokegirls_wootwoot

Maggie Stiefvater has become one of my all time favourite authors. This wonderful series is just beautiful. And The Dream Thieves was such an incredible read.

RONAN LYNCH IS JUST EVERYTHING TO ME.

He has become one of my favourite characters in fiction. His character is so sad and angry and deeply flawed. But that is what makes him so incredible. The fact that this book was written to focus so much on Ronan was a wonderful gift. We got to understand so much more of his character and he developed so naturally throughout the book. I am looking forward to finishing this series and discovering more about this character.

And I cannot forget how much I love the rest of the gang. Blue is such a beautiful character. I love the relationship that she has with her mother and the rest of her family. And it really broke my heart when she reveals that she feels on the outside of both her family and her friends and her Raven Boys. This was so relatable to me, as I’m sure it is to so many others. Her friendship with Noah is one my favourite things about this book. I loved their scenes together. Actually, I loved every scene with Noah. And it was so scary to see how everything was effecting him.

Gansey continues to be a wonderful character. And I love his growing friendship with Blue, as well as seeing how the rest of his friendships have been affected since the previous book. And Adam, poor Adam. Sometimes he annoys me, but then I realise that he is a lot like me. He is precious and needs protecting and I need him to be okay. Because this character has the potential to seriously break my heart into a million tiny pieces.

This book focuses so much more on the characters, rather than the overall plot, and I absolutely love that. Character driven novels are, by far, my favourite.

i-love-it-yelling-girl

I love this book. I love these characters. I love all the twists and turns.

My only problem? Probably the inclusion of Mr Gray. This was only because it took away time from Blue. If the book had focused more on Blue that would have been absolutely fantastic! She is such an interesting, beautiful character. And I love reading about her relationship with her family, the growing relationships she has with the Raven Boys and the personal growth that she undergoes throughout these past two books.

Anyone else absolutely in love with this series?

fivestars

IMG_8387

2 thoughts on “Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

