Books That Have Been On My TBR Forever

img_8855

I have so many books sitting on my bookshelf that I have yet to read — and I’ve had them for so damn long. So, I have created a list of all the books that I have sitting on my bookshelf that I really need to read soon.

11408650The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

I have had The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin sitting on my bookshelf for months. I bought this book simply because the cover is simply gorgeous (yes, this book was definitely a cover buy!), but the more that I have seen reviews for it, the more that I want to read it. Hopefully once university is finished, I’ll be able to fit this book in.


18053060Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas. I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I’ve been trained to fight. And I have a mission.

I absolutely love retellings — my favourite fairytale retelling is definitely Cinder by Marissa Meyer. So, once I found out that this series existed, I immediately bought the first book… and haven’t actually read it yet. I have heard so many great things about this book and the series as a whole, so I am really regretting the fact that I haven’t found the time to read this one. Soon, soon!


5099602Graceling by Kristin Cashore

In a world where people born with an exceptional skill, known as a Grace, are both feared and exploited, Katsa carries the burden of a skill even she despises: the Grace of killing.

Feared by the court and shunned by those her own age, the darkness of her Grace casts a heavy shadow over Katsa’s life. Yet she remains defiant: when the King of Lienid’s father is kidnapped she investigates, and stumbles across a mystery. Who would want to kidnap the old man, and why? And who was the extraordinary Graced man whose fighting abilities rivalled her own?

The only thing Katsa is sure of is that she no longer wants to kill. The intrigue around this kidnapping offers her a way out – but little does she realise, when she takes it, that something insidious and dark lurks behind the mystery. Something spreading from the shadowy figure of a one-eyed king…

I have wanted to read this book LONG before I started book blogging. But my bookstore never had it. However, a couple of months ago, I stumbled across it at another bookstore and instantly bought it with the intention to read it next. Um, so that never happened. Although, once I was making this list for this post, I realised how much I actually want to read this book. So, it may be one of my next reads!


60510Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Choose: A quick death…Or slow poison…

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear…

I actually can’t remember buying this book (that’s kind of sad…), but it has been sitting on my bookshelf for the longest time! I should probably at least give this book a go, but at the moment it really is at the bottom of my TBR. Have any of you read this book? What was your thoughts?


26839076Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry

Nearly fourteen years ago, a freak virus swept across the world turning the living into the undead. Benny Imura was only a toddler, but his last memory of his parents is tainted by the image of them becoming zombies, and he blames his older brother, Tom, for not saving them.

Now Benny is fifteen, and Tom wants them to put their difficult relationship behind them and work together in the “family business”: as zombie killers. It’s the last thing Benny wants to do, but he needs a job and he thinks it’ll be an easy ride.

But when they head into the Rot and Ruin, an area full of wandering zombies, Benny soon realises that there’s more to the job than just whacking zombies. And, as he’s confronted with the truth about the world around him Benny makes the most terrifying discovery of all, that the worst monsters you can imagine might actually be human …

I LOVE ZOMBIES! (I pretty much binge-watched The Walking Dead and Fear the Walking Dead, and I fell instantly in love with iZombie.) So why haven’t I picked up this book yet? I don’t actually have the faintest idea. I am so excited to read this book though, so hopefully I’ll begin it before the end of the year. Because zombies are amazing.

What books have been on your TBR the longest? Have you read any of these books before?

15 thoughts on “Books That Have Been On My TBR Forever

  1. I actually have a lot of books on my TBR as well, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is one of them 😦
    I’ve read Poison Study and Graceling, and I think they’re both really good! I hope you’ll like these books as much as I do when you read them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Unbecoming of Mara does look great and I like the amnesiac angle of the story. I also have some really goods sitting on my bookshelf. So many wonderful books but not enough time to read them all. I hope that you will enjoy the books once you get to read them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read Rot and Ruin not that long ago and loved it! It was quite a unique plot which was great as some zombie novels tend to just regurgitate the same plot over and over again, and it had a lot of moral dilemmas to get your teeth into. I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVE The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer! Its actually one of my favorite books that I’ve read this year. I think I read it in less than two days. It is stunningly thrilling and creepy, but there’s also romance and friendship and…I could keep going. Highly recommend!

    I also highly recommend Dorothy Must Die. It was one of my favorite books last year! There’s kickass characters, an amazing plotline, and a love interest that is swoon worthy. Like I wish I could marry that boy! I also am a sucker for retellings and this was so different than other ones that I’d read. Again, highly recommend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woohoo, that’s awesome to hear! You’ve made me ten times more excited to read both of these books. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer just sounds amazing and SO MANY people are telling me to read it. I’ll have to attempt to read it by the end of the year, so fingers crossed that that happens!
      And I will never say no to a swoon worthy love interest. So, I’ve become even more intrigued with Dorothy Must Die, haha.
      Thanks so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

