Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You The Longest To Finish

top5wednesday

This week’s topic is what books took you the longest to finish? This topic was actually a lot harder than I thought — but I did manage to find five books that took me the longest to read!

151. Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4) by Sarah J. Maas

Despite the fact that the Throne of Glass series is one of my favourite series, it took me forever to finish Queen of Shadows. This was a mix between the way that Sarah J. Maas choose to write one of my favourite characters of the entire series and the fact that I was experiencing one of the longest book slumps that I have ever experienced. I began reading this wonderful book on Christmas Eve and didn’t finish it until February ended! That’s the longest that it has ever taken for me to actually finish a book. Though, in the end, it was worth it, because I actually really enjoyed it. Also, I haven’t experienced a book slump quite like that one since, so that’s pretty good!

magicians2. The Magicians (The Magicians, #1) by Lev Grossman

I’m sure by now you guys already know how disappointed I was with this book. I was really excited to read it, only to become a little bored, a little grossed out with the weird sexual scenes scattered throughout the book and not fall in love with any of the characters. Because I wasn’t enjoying the book, it took me a very, very long time to finish it (three weeks, I’m pretty sure). I probably should have just stopped reading it if I wasn’t enjoying it, but I was so determined to see if the characters redeemed themselves that I simply persevered. (Note: they did not redeem themselves, at all.) Though, I have heard that the television series is so much better — so I am very excited to watch.

scorchtrials13. The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner, #2) by James Dashner

Now, I absolutely enjoyed the first book in The Maze Runner series — it is definitely one of my all time favourites — however, the second book was really disappointing. I only felt this way because the first book was amazing, and the second one just didn’t live up to the first one. Also, Thomas didn’t feel like the same Thomas. Am I making any sense? Due to this disappointment, it took me forever to finish it. Someday I will have to read the third book, but because the reading experience for this one was long and tiresome, it may take me a while before I begin the next one in the series. This is quite disappointing, but unfortunately that is the way it is.

gameofthrones4. A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1) by George R. R. Martin

When I began reading this book, I was a little confused because of the large cast of (wonderful) characters. So, instead of giving up… I pretty much binge-watched the entire first season of Game of Thrones. Yeah. This meant that I now had a pretty firm grip on all the amazing characters that A Game of Thrones focused on. Now, it didn’t really take me forever to watch the series (like a couple of days), but I had been procrastinating a lot with this book. I think I simply let this book intimidate me. BUT! Once I finally got my head around the characters, and could properly picture them, I finally finished this book and absolutely enjoyed every single minute of it.

255014875. The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus, #5) by Rick Riordan

Okay, I am actually really, really cheating on this last one, simply because I couldn’t think of another book that took me forever to read. But it did kind of take me a lot longer to finish this book than the others in the series… mainly because I really didn’t want this series to end. I gave every book in this series five stars. I absolutely loved every single one of them for various reasons. So, I took my time with this book and enjoyed every moment of it. Sometimes I take a long time finishing a book, not because I didn’t enjoy, but simply because I enjoyed it so damn much. And The Blood of Olympus is  definitely that sort of book.

What books took you the longest read?

17 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You The Longest To Finish

  1. I did the exact same thing with Game of Thrones! Started with the tv show, and then moved onto the book. Although the huge differences in the next few books with the tv show, did throw me off a little as the flow got moving – but I think I caught up pretty well!
    Also, quite a few people seem to agree that the blood of olympus took them a long time to get through. Maybe I should start reading the series and see what that’s all about?
    Loved your top five! If you’re interested you can find mine by clicking on this link.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wouldn’t even attempt GoT due to the sheer size of it. I plan on sticking to the TV show.

    Maze Runner would probably make my list as I found it a bit of a hard slog. I haven’t attempted Scorch Trials yet but given I didn’t even make it through the film adaptation I don’t think it’s ever going to happen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I don’t blame you. The books are brilliant, but they are definitely HUGE. And long. And take forever to read.
      I actually really enjoyed The Scorch Trials movie adaption — mostly because it was so much better than the book, in my honest opinion. If you couldn’t make it through the movie, you might not like the second book. But who knows! You may enjoy it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oooh, I could understand taking your time to finish a book because you don’t want it to end. I did that with Aristotle and Dante Discovers the Secret of the Universe. 😀

    Anyways, Blood of Olympus ❤ I love Heroes of Olympus series so much 🙂
    I haven't read the other books on your list though, but I will probably start Throne of Glass series soon.
    Like your list! 🙂 If you're interested in reading mine, just click on the link: My T5W post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Heroes of Olympus series is, without a single doubt, one of my all time favourite series. I really did not want that series to end, so I definitely took my time with that one!
      I hope that you enjoy Throne of Glass. That series is AMAZING! 😀

      Like

    1. Haha, I don’t blame you! I’ve read the series and it took me FOREVER. I’m planning of re-reading it once Game of Thrones is finished on television and I think that I’ll have a much better appreciation for the books (even though I loved them).
      I’m glad that I’m not the only one that thought that about The Scorch Trials. It wasn’t the worst book, but it was definitely disappointing after such an awesome first book. I’ll definitely be checking out your T5W! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Queen of Shadows took me two weeks finish and that was listening to the audiobook. Beside that and A Game of Thrones, I haven’t read any of the others… though they have been on my TBR for the LONGEST time!! Great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are actually the first person that has ever actually loved the Heroes of Olympus series that I’ve met! I’ve been trying to decide if I want to read them. Do you recommend them?

    Also, the longest I’ve ever taken to read a book was a month and that was Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I just had a hard time getting through it for some reason. But I flew through the next two! (Still have yet to read Queen of Shadows or Empire of Storms…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Heroes of Olympus series is AMAZING. If you enjoyed the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, you will love it. I would 100% recommend this series to anyone who is looking for a fun, interesting and creative read. SO GOOD!
      It seems to me that a lot of people have trouble getting through the first book in Throne of Glass. I think it took me a week or two to get through it, and I was on holiday from school and work. But I was exactly the same with the next two, I read them SO FAST! I hope you enjoy Queen of Shadows and Empire of Storms! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I just have to read The Last Olympian and then I am done with the Percy Jackson series, so I will definitely have to read those then!
        I was on Christmas break and I couldn’t hardly get through Throne of Glass, but I am glad I read it. I plan on reading Queen of Shadows as soon as I read the last novella for the Throne of Glass series!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I am ashamed to admit that I haven’t read ToG series yet.I was planning on starting it but I never get enough time to read my TBR 😅

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

