7 Reasons Why You Should Read “Illuminae”

2016-05-12 12.55.09

1. Because if you love Battlestar Galactica, you will love this book. I am a humongous Battlestar Galactica fan — not only is it was one of the greatest science fiction series ever, but definitely one of the best television shows to ever appear on television. If you are anything like me, and you have a strong love for Battlestar Galactica, then this wonderful book will fill you with so much fracking nostalgia.

2. This is the ultimate young adult science fiction book. I have a lot of favourite young adult science fiction books, but Illuminae is hands down my absolute favourite. This is, without a doubt, the most pure science fiction aimed at young adults out there.

3. The structure is completely different. This is not written like a normal book — this is made up of emails, messages, interviews and even surveillance footage. This may seem a little too different and way outside your comfort zone, but if you give it a chance you may really like it. It is definitely a very creative approach.

4. Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff work brilliantly together — you cannot tell that two people have written this book. These two are so badass together; the ultimate co-author team.

5. Kaufman and Kristoff manage to wonderfully develop the main characters in a very unconventional way. Because this book is not written in the traditional way, the main characters have to be developed differently. And this is done through the various documents that this book is made up of. You may not think that this would be possible, however you should trust these authors because the main characters are immensely intriguing people and develop naturally.

6. This book is full of mystery and intrigue. TWISTS AND TURNS AND MYSTERY. Those are the three words that I would use to describe the plot of this novel. And the villain? Oh. My. God. Guys, this book has one of my most favourite villains ever.

7. BECAUSE THE SECOND BOOK IS COMING OUT SOON AND YOU NEED TO ENJOY THE AMAZINENESS WITH ME! I almost can’t breathe because of how excited I am! *squeals* Illuminae was awesome and amazing and fantastic and brilliant and badass. So I have very high expectations for Gemina.

Have you read Illuminae? And are you excited for Gemina’s release?

35 thoughts on “7 Reasons Why You Should Read “Illuminae”

  1. I agree with all of this, except that I have never seen Battlestar Galactica, but everything else! I totally raved about this book in my review and to anyone that I can possibly bring it up to. I can’t wait to get my hands on Gemina next week!!
    Katie x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I really want to get it but I know I have like no time to read right now with school in full swing so I probably won’t be able to read it until Christmas break but I wish I could read it immediately!
        Katie x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay, so you basically made me want to read the book right now, mission accomplished I’d say 🙂 I recently bought the book, but well, due to the endless physical TBR I have to get through, I didn’t read it just yet. But if I was impatient before, I NOW NEED TO READ IT. The unusual form of the story makes me a bit worried, I hope I’ll get used to this though 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woohoo! I’m so happy, haha 🙂
      The formatting of the book is very different from anything else that I’ve ever read. But I think that’s what makes me like it so much. People tend to either love it or hate it, but I think going into it with an open mind will make the reading experience so much better. I hope that you enjoy this book, hun! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review! I am so glad you enjoyed this book because Illuminae is a favourite of mine (and I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Gemina and I can say it is just as amazing). I haven’t read many sci-fi books but Illuminae is my favourite as well, the format of the book is so unique and beautiful as well that I couldn’t help fall in love with it. From now on I will be picking up anything Kaufman or Kristoff writes.
    I really hope you enjoy Gemina when you get around to it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I AM SO JEALOUS OF YOU! Haha. But I’m so glad that you enjoyed Gemina, that makes me so excited for it now. Well… more so, lol. Kaufman and Kristoff are such an awesome team, and their other books are really well done. Have you read Kristoff’s Nevernight? That book was badass. And Kaufman’s Starbound trilogy with Meagan Spooner? I’ve read the first book and find it to be a good mix of science fiction and romance.
      Thank-you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s an amazing book, well worth the wait and it’s not long to go now so that’s something isn’t it?
        I’ve read Nevernight but not his other series, and I’ve read the Starbound trilogy as well (that’s another of my favourite sci-fi books). I agree they’re an amazing team and I’d highly recommend the other two books in the Starbound series because they’re just as amazing as the first!
        That’s all right! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes to all of the above. I absolutely adore Illuminae and I’m seriously thinking about re-reading the book before the second one comes out. I love the narrative structure of the book and I love the fact that even with this unique narrative I still felt like I knew and emotionally connected with the characters. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that that was the best part of Illuminae. The fact that Kaufman and Kristoff managed to develop their characters so wonderfully in such a different structure. Becoming emotionally connected to a character is a MUST for me, so I was really happy with the way that they did that with Illuminae’s characters 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I missed the ship that is Illuminae and somehow along the way just lost my interest. Your list kind of made me want to give it another try… but I’m wondering if I should just wait until the series is completed and I can binge through it. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I completely adore your lists! I was nodding along the whole time I read it because ACCURATE! I’m not a big fan of science fiction but hands down, Illuminae was the best I have ever read! ❤ I was a bit nervous about the writing style but OMG IT WAS GENIUS! Super cool and I didn't think I could be so immersed in it. But of course I was, this book is just brilliant! I love Kadie and Ezra, they definitely stole my heart their IMs are my favorite part of the book 😛 I can't wait for Gemina either! It's only a week to go and I'm exciteeeed! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank-you so much hun! That’s made my day 🙂
      I think that that’s the most awesome thing about Illuminae. Even if people don’t particularly like, or read much of, science fiction it interests them because its something different.
      YES, ONE WEEK! I’m so excited too 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

