Series I Want to Finish Before 2017

img_9115

It’s October, which means that 2017 is less than two months away! (How did that time go by so quickly?) And before the year ends and we enter into 2017, I want to have finished these three amazing series:

cressThe Lunar Chronicles: Cress and Winter by Marissa Meyer

I have fallen absolutely in love with this wonderful series that Marissa Meyer has written. And not only because this series is a beautiful example of a fairy-tale retelling done right. This series has an awesome cast of characters that I have fallen in love with during the first two books and I cannot wait to read about them in the following books as well as meet a couple of new characters in the process. I only have two more books to read (I’m not including the other companion books, at this stage anyway), but the last book is HUGE! Though, whilst a little intimidating in size (okay, perhaps very intimidating in size, haha), I am still very excited to get to the end of this series.

17378508The Raven Cycle: Blue Lily, Lily Blue and The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

This year, Maggie Stiefvater quickly became one of my all time favourite authors. No joke. The Raven Cycle is such a fantastic series, with incredible characters and a new, different and interesting storyline. This series captured me pretty much instantly and now I only have two books left in the series. I will definitely be reading them soon, because I cannot leave this series unfinished. I cannot wait to find out the fates of the beautiful characters that Stiefvater has created — but at the same time I don’t want to finish reading it because then it’ll be over for good. *cries uncontrollably*

17404295Snow Like Ashes: Ice Like Fire and Frost Like Night by Sara Raash

I’ve only read the first one in this trilogy, but I really, really enjoyed it. I have the next two books on my shelf, but have yet to read them — so this trilogy is definitely a must-read before the end of the year. I cannot wait to go back to this world and learn more about it, as well as watch as the characters continue to develop and their relationships with one another grow. I don’t really know why I haven’t finished this series yet. Maybe because of all the new releases lately? Haha. However, I am determined to finish this by 2017. Because how could you say “no” to these beautiful covers? I seriously can’t take my eyes off them — they are just so damn gorgeous!

Have you read any of these series? What series do you want to finish before 2017?

34 thoughts on “Series I Want to Finish Before 2017

  1. Ah The Raven Cycle is my next series to start.
    I’ve read The Lunar Chronicles and believe me as big as Winter is you’ll get through it so fast!
    I’m like 3/4 through Ice Like Fire and going to purchase Frost Like Night today so yes! Super excited. ☺️✌🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I highly recommend finishing the Lunar Chronicles first, then The Raven Cycle, and save the other for last! Snow Like Ashes series, though good, was my least favorite that I have read for the last few months. I can’t wait to start reading The Faithful and The Fallen once it gets closer to the date of the last book release!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am currently in the process of finishing The Lunar Chronicles before 2016 ends and I just finished The Raven Cycle a few months ago. I have a lot of unfinished series and I’ve made it a priority to finish as many as I can this year though I’ll definitely have to do the same next year haha

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Both The Raven Cycle and The Lunar Chronicles are two of my all-time favourite series so I really hope you enjoy them; and both are series which gets better and better with each book so you have the best yet to come with Cress, Winter, Blue Lily Lily Blue and The Raven King. I really can’t wait to see what you think of them all.
    The Snow Like Ashes series is one I need to finish as well, I kind of doubt I’ll get around to it this year but hopefully soon, and now the whole trilogy has been released it’s not like I’ll have to wait for the last book!
    Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Can’t wait till you finish The Lunar Chronicles! Cress was my favorite in the series and Winter was fabulous. Don’t let the size intimidate you! I devoured that book! The story goes to new heights and the character development is on point. Love that series!

    I am trying to read the rest of the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas (I only have Queen of Shadows and Empire of Storms left to read!), the last book in the Six of Crows duology, Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, and the second book in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series, The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan. I have a shit ton of books on my Fall TBR Pile, but I need to try to finish these by the end of the year, and I am super excited about them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of the Throne of Glass series! Queen of Shadows and Empire of Storms are incredible, so I have no doubt that you’ll enjoy them. I’m reading Crooked Kingdom at the moment and wow. I’m loving it. Good luck in finishing these books before the end of the year! Hopefully your TBR doesn’t get too out of control in the meantime, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am pretty sure my Fall TBR Pile in total has 8+ books on it. I am hoping to get through all of those! Fingers crossed. I am so excited to finally catch up on Throne of Glass, so fingers crossed I finish that series. I have heard nothing but fantastic things about Crooked Kingdom, which makes that a priority on my TBR. Hopefully I will get to it before the end of November! I will try my best to not add books to my ever growing TBR pile haha XD

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m halfway through Crooked Kingdom at the moment and I can tell you YOU NEED TO READ THIS ASAP! Haha 🙂
        I think that is a problem that all bibliophiles face haha. I’m always adding new books to my TBR and it is getting kind of ridiculous! I think if I add anymore it is going to topple over on top of me!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahh The Raven Cycle! I love that series so much but The Raven King was such a let down for me. I still loved it but I really expected more =\ but The Lunar Chronicles! That is one series that ended with a bang! I really love it so much and Winter was my favourite… after Scarlet, of course 😀

    Good luck getting them finished.

    I really need to make a post like this to keep track of the series I need to finish! I’ve got this horrible habit of starting and not finishing series

    Like

    1. I completely understand that habit, because I am always doing the same thing. That’s why I decided to choose three series that I really want to finish before the end of the year. I am determined to finish them now, especially after making a blog post about them, haha 🙂
      That’s a bit disappointing to hear about The Raven King, but I’m so glad that you enjoyed The Lunar Chronicles! That is such an awesome series and I cannot wait to finish it 🙂

      Like

      1. Yeah, I find that making a blog post or at the very least, telling people you’re intentions make you more determined to finish them? It’s why I want to make a post too.
        And yeah, I still love the series but it was a let down but The Lunar Chronicles definitely was not! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. These are some epic series. I’ve read both The Lunar Chronicles and The Raven Cycle and I can safely say they are some of my all time favourites. The character dynamics in both series are so much fun to read about. They are squad goals haha. I want to try and finish the Red Rising trilogy by the end of the year. I loved the first two books in the series but the emotional trauma you go through is intense and I’ve not mustered the courage to see how things end haha.

    Like

    1. Yes, I definitely agree. I want to be best friends with the Raven boys and Blue SO BAD haha 🙂
      I haven’t read the Red Rising trilogy yet, but I do own the first book. It sounds amazing and I cannot wait to start reading it. I hope that you manage to finish the series without too much emotional trauma! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. There’s so many series I need to finish, it’s a little ridiculous. One of them is The Lunar Chronicles though, and I’m actually quite close with that one. I’ve read the actual series, I just need to read the last novella bindup Stars Above, and then I’ll have read them all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I LOVED the first two Raven Cycle books, but have yet to check out the last two. If I could wrap those up before 2017, that would be awesome, but I’m really trying to finish the third A Song of Ice and Fire book plus a few “for review” titles. Ugh! The TBR goes ever on and on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I 100% understand that feeling! I love when everything comes together and we finally know everyone’s stories. But I also have the same problem. I am always starting new series instead of finishing the ones I’ve already started, oops! That’s why I am determined to finish these ones, haha 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

