Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

17378508

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.

Mothers can disappear.

Visions can mislead.

Certainties can unravel.

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon

untitled

2016 has brought me many amazing things. But, perhaps the most important, it has brought my attention to Maggie Stiefvater. When I first joined the Bookstagram and the book blogging communities, The Raven Cycle was pretty much dominating both platforms. I was intrigued, so I instantly bought the entire series in hardcover (simply because the hardcovers are gorgeous!). And I have never looked back.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue was a wonderful read. It was so nice stepping back into the lives of these characters and going on their fascinating adventure alongside them. It was like returning home — I read The Dream Thieves so long ago that I almost forgot how nice it was to read about the search for Glendower.

untitled

↠ Plot

The plot moves quite nicely. With each book the plot is quite slow, but that allows more time for character development. Now, I wouldn’t characterise the pace as slow and boring, because the plot is intriguing and there are so many surprises (and sometimes scary things) that Stiefvater throws the reader’s way. The slow pace is not a negative. I repeat, this is not a negative. For Blue Lily, Lily Blue — as well as the first two books in the series — this works exceptionally well. The way the plot slowly develops makes the book even more intriguing.

I think that the plot moves at such a slow pace because we get to spend so much time with all of the characters. I love that we get to experience things from nearly everyone’s point of view. Without giving away spoilers (I would hate to ruin the reading experience of these fantastic books), I am loving the subplots involving Blue and Gansey, and Ronan and Adam. These subplots really make the book. They are entertaining and build upon character. And they do a wonderful job at moving the overall plot forward.

Yet, the search for Glendower is still the most prominent storyline, and everything centres around it or somehow connects back to it.

untitled

↠ Characters

I have never wanted to be part of a friendship group more. Stiefvater has created a beautiful set of main characters, all of whom I care about deeply. Blue Sargent has quickly become one of my all time favourite characters in Young Adult Fiction. She grows and develops so much during this book — making her character even more engaging and interesting to read about. She isn’t perfect, but Blue doesn’t try to be. Her reaction to her mother going missing felt so real and so heartbreaking that it was so easy to feel sympathetic for her.

The Raven Boys are all equally fascinating. Adam, who used to be my least favourite character of the group (though I still loved him), has quickly become a character that I am rooting for. I strongly believe that this book is about personal growth, and whilst Blue really does grow throughout this entire book, I think that it is Adam who has transformed so much from when we first met him.

Ronan is still one of my favourite characters. He isn’t as prominent as he was in the second book, but this is still the Ronan that we all know and love. I’m enjoying his character more and more — especially when he has scenes with Adam, or when we get to see a more vulnerable side of him. Gansey is a great character and I liked the fact that we got to understand more about his background in this book. In the first book, Gansey is depicted almost as though he is perfect, but as layers and layers peal away, we are seeing more of the real Richard Gansey III. And I really like him. Finally, Noah is still an adorable little cinnamon roll.

untitled

↠ Overall

The Raven Cycle keeps on getting better and better. I absolutely loved Blue Lily, Lily Blue. Maggie Stiefvater is a truly incredible author and this group of characters that she created for this series are some of my all time favourites.

This book has a few heartbreaking moments, but the overall theme is definitely personal growth. These characters had wonderful moments of character development and I really liked the fact that we had scenes that gave us more insight into a few of them. This is where Stiefvater shines. Her focus on character development and writing a story that is 100% character driven really shows her strengths as an author. Though, I don’t like every character. The inclusion of Greenmantle and Piper was alright, but Greenmante was kind of annoying. But, I actually laughed whenever Piper was in a scene. She definitely stole the show (book?)  away from Greenmantle.

Character driven novels are  definitely my favourite, and Blue Lily, Lily Blue is definitely one of the best books that I have read this year. I can’t wait to begin reading The Raven King.

fivestars

img_9267

3 thoughts on “Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Yay to five stars!! 😀 I love this book so much! I cannot even begin to tell you how much I fell in love with this series. Can’t wait for you to read The Raven King. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

