Oops, I Took An Unexpected Hiatus and Now I’m Experiencing A Reading/Writing Slump!

*waves nervously* Do you guys even remember me? It has definitely been an incredibly long time since the last time I blogged, tweeted or posted pictures on Instagram. Lately social media has been pushed to the background for a while. But during that time I have missed all of you so much — I know that I have plenty to catch on, as well as many blog posts to read and comment on.

So, why have I been completely MIA? Well, to be completely honest with you all, I have been experiencing one of the worst reading and writing slumps ever. Since finishing my thesis and heading into what we will label “the real world” finding a nice balance has been increasingly difficult. I am working a lot more, trying to have some sort of social life (*cough*dating*cough*) and I have been focusing a lot on my health. (I’ve actually managed to lose quite a lot of weight these past few months, and I am actually feeling pretty great.)

Unfortunately, reading, writing and blogging have taken a backseat. This has really annoyed because these three things have always been my creative outlet. A place for me to express myself without fear of judgement.

But I am very dedicated to coming back. Things are still hectic, especially at work, but I want to make time for my passions again. Until the New Year, my blogging will still probably be quite sporadic, but I am hoping that by January I will have worked out some kind of blogging schedule that I can keep. I really hope that you want to continue this journey with me. 

untitled

Reading Slump:

I have been reading (or I should say trying to read) the exact same book, The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater, for a little bit over a month now. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this book — in fact, it is just as amazing as the first three books in the series. But my motivation to actually read it has significantly dwindled since finishing my thesis and getting more hours at work. When I get home, I may read a chapter here and there, but I find myself wanting to do other things like spending time with my boyfriend… or napping haha.

I’m hoping that I will have this book completed soon though. *fingers crossed*

untitled

Writing Slump:

I really, really don’t think that I have been experiencing a writing slump. It is just that I have very little time to dedicate to my writing. This sounds like a really pathetic excuse, however after spending hours working in retail and dealing with the rush of customers doing their Christmas shopping, I just want to eat and sleep before having to repeat everything the next day.

Though, I currently have a little over 13k words of my book. I am so deeply in love with the characters and the plot — all of the characters have not stopped whispering in my ear despite the fact I haven’t been writing constantly. As long as they keep are talking to me, this book will be written. In fact, after I press “publish” for this post, I am opening my word document and stepping back into the fantasy world that I created.

Wish me luck.


Have you ever experienced a reading/writing slump? How did you get over it?

And if you have any posts that you want me to read, please link them below!

7 thoughts on “Oops, I Took An Unexpected Hiatus and Now I’m Experiencing A Reading/Writing Slump!

  1. Sometimes life gets in the way of the reading and the writing and the blogging, but it’s not always a bad thing! It seems that you’ve been doing productive, positive things regardless. This time of year is bound to overcrowd your schedule however you slice it. Anywho, welcome back!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recently just came out of a reading/blogging slump. There was a mix of two things that helped me get out of it:
    1) just giving it time, doing things other than reading and blogging
    2) once some time had passed, just getting straight back into the deep end and forcing myself to read and write posts

    Good luck with your book! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, man, slumps are the worst. I went into a year-and-a-half-ish long reading and writing slump after attaining my master’s (in literature–so a reading slump of that magnitude was TERRIFYING; books are literally not-literally my lifeblood), and even after I came out of the slump it took me several months to feel truly passionate about reading again. I think I had some kind of identity crisis? I don’t even know. Maybe I was possessed.

    What helped me survive it was (don’t laugh) Kdrama. I signed up for a DramaFever account, and started binge-watching Kdramas, and I haven’t looked back. Whenever I feel a slump coming on now, that site’s the first place I turn to; it gives me a great break from books while still giving me the engaging characters and compelling narratives I need to live. (Manga and anime help, too.) Maybe focusing on other forms of storytelling would help you, too?

    Congrats on the weight loss, and best of luck with the dating! Sounds like you’ve been keeping busy, for sure. Here’s hoping you get your reading, writing, and blogging motivation back eventually–but in the meantime, I wouldn’t sweat it. It’ll come when it comes. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally get you! I’ve been in a reading/blogging slump for the past few months. It’s not a full one, but sometimes I have to really convince myself to read or blog. I definitely get burnt a lot and I’m not even doing any busy rl stuff like you are so I can definitely imagine why you’d be feeling that way. Normally I’ll binge read comics or watch some light TV shows on Netflix and that can help.

    I hope all your real life stuff works out how you want it to and that you’re out of your slumps soon ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve experienced all three! I’ve been in a huge blogging slump for the past few months because life has been so hectic so I totally understand! And whilst I haven’t been in a reading slump, I haven’t actually found the time to read which has been really frustrating. I also had a writing slump for about three years whilst I was at uni haha so don’t feel bad about your slump, at least it’s not been three years! I hope things calm down for you in the new year so you can get back to your hobbies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

