Review: The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave, #2) by Rick Yancey // To Be Honest, I Am A Little Disappointed

16131484How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible.

Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone.

As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise.

In the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

Goodreads || Booktopia (AUS) || Amazon

untitled

So, my Goodreads is telling me that I actually finished this book in September 2016. I cannot believe that I have taken so long to actually complete this review, but I have my reasons… I just couldn’t motivate myself to write one.

There are a lot of people that sometimes go into sequels either reluctantly or simply terrified because they’re concerned that it won’t live up to the pure awesomeness of the first book. I get it — but I am not one of those people. I tend to genuinely like sequels regardless, and never go into them thinking that it won’t live up to the expectations that the first book set.

I was so excited to begin reading The Infinite Sea. But, unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment for me.

I have so much love for The 5th Wave. It was a fantastic read (and you can read my review for that one here if you like). And yet, I was let down immensely by the sequel.

untitled

↠ Plot

What is great about The Infinite Sea is that it basically begins at the point where the previous book finished. Unfortunately, however, the beginning was very slow and it actually took me a while to properly get myself into the story and become invested. It just didn’t capture me instantly and I found that I actually had to force myself to continue reading. In comparison, the beginning of The 5th Wave was incredible. I was invested straightaway.

The first half of The Infinite Sea was basically the same day told through different perspectives. Whilst this was a very interesting concept and allowed for the reader to experience events from each character’s point of view (and understand their emotions through an alien invasion), this grew quite repetitive. I wanted to read about something different. I wanted to be surprised. But, ultimately, I wasn’t.

The last half of the book was perhaps the most interesting and introduced a number of surprises and twists and turns. It was nice to see another side to the alien invasion, something that I strongly believe enhanced the overall story and reading experience.

This book definitely moved the overall series’ plot forward. Unfortunately, it felt like the plot for this specific book was unfortunately lost in Yancey’s attempt to explore different points of views. I really do believe that this second book has arguably set up a great third one — but I guess I’ll know for sure when I decide to read it.

untitled

↠ Characters

To be honest, the only thing that is saving The Infinite Sea from receiving anything less than three stars is my absolute love for each of the characters. Yancey does a truly fantastic job at keeping the voices of the characters consistent from the first book, but also allowing them to both develop and grow throughout the second book. Each of the characters — even the characters that I don’t particularly like… I’m looking at you Evan… — feel so incredibly real to me.

Cassie will probably always be one of my favourite female characters from young adult fiction — even when her relationship with Evan grows on my nerves from time to time. What I love about Cassie is how relatable she is. Her relationship with her brother threatens to make me cry, but mostly because as readers we can see that Cassie is motivated by protecting him. She may not always do the right thing, but we can understand her intentions.

I also really enjoyed the fact that Yancey allowed readers to have more Ringer during this book. Ringer is definitely an interesting character and has grown on me immensely since the first book. My complaint is that her storyline somewhat resembled Cassie’s storyline from the first book. Does anybody else feel this way? Please tell me that I am not alone.

untitled

↠ Overall

Yes, I was immensely disappointed. But the only question that I am left with after finishing the second book is whether or not I will be continuing with the series. To be honest, this book may not have lived up to my expectations, but I have come this far and have become somewhat invested in these characters. I really do want to see how Yancey decides to wrap things up. So, yes, my fellow bibliophiles, I will definitely be continuing this series. But I may have to lower my expectations so I’m not as disappointed if the third book heads down the same path.

threestars

img_8875

5 thoughts on “Review: The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave, #2) by Rick Yancey // To Be Honest, I Am A Little Disappointed

Leave a Reply

