Writing Update: I Finally Finished My Novel & I’m Back From Hiatus!

*comes flying in on the back of a majestic, fire-breathing dragon* Hiiiiiiiiii guysssss….

I have not written a single blog post in over a month. *gasps* To be honest, I have been insanely busy and attempting to write a blog post has just felt like a major chore. Whenever I start writing one, I frustratingly close my laptop and it takes me days to attempt one again. I just really needed a break, a few weeks to properly clear the mind, reassess my goals, decide what is important to me, and determine where I want my life to lead.

Now I am back, and I am excited to finally return to this beautiful book blogging community that continues to inspire no matter where I am. I have still followed everyone silently, hiding in the shadows (not in a creepy way, I swear) and I am still proud to be a member of this community. And I wanted to finally share some very exciting news with everyone:

I HAVE FINISHED MY NOVEL!

07dc85f1adb7f69207466a582b3a071c

(I found the picture on this site.)

I have been attempting to write this Young Adult Fantasy novel since I was sixteen — however, due to the demands of college and then university, I was overwhelmed and stressed and lacking even the smallest bit of creativity. Once I finally graduated, I was desperate to write this novel about dragons and power-hungry magicians and extraordinarily brave young women wielding swords and golden flames. I ended this fantasy novel at exactly 80,000. So, it’s a little on the short side.

The whole experience of writing this novel has actually been wonderful and I have learnt so much about myself as a writer. This novel has been like a rebellious teenager: it was constantly trying to find itself and diverged over and over again from what I originally intended it to be. But, along the way, it discovered itself. It found out who it was. And, because of that, this novel and its characters became stronger.

To be honest, I do not have any plans to immediately return to this novel or world. I will definitely return to this WIP some time in the future — I could never throw this aside permanently — but I want to explore other avenues with my writing. I want to try new genres and new types of characters. I want to create new worlds. I want to practice my craft and become a much better, well-rounded writer. I am hoping to return to this novel later in the year, especially since my misfit group of characters have such an important place in my heart.

Whilst this blog is primarily a book blog, I will definitely be writing more posts in the future regarding my writing. I look forward to sharing more of my journey with you all. Thank-you for being wonderful and inspiring human beings.

13 thoughts on “Writing Update: I Finally Finished My Novel & I’m Back From Hiatus!

  1. Congratulations on finishing your novel!! I hope the editing process goes well 🙂 And I get what you mean about challenging yourself- I’ve been focusing on writing fantasy for so long that this year I want to try and write a contemporary novel too (emphasis on the word try haha!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

